Notices
Profile and Fun Flying Planes If you're a profile fan or into fun flyers than this is the forum to discuss those topics.

fun 15

Old 03-23-2002, 08:06 PM
  #1  
Daniel Z
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Daniel Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SantiagoReg Metropolitana, Providencia, CHILE
Posts: 490
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

I have been looking arround and found some (japanese?) 3d planes that flys with the OS15LA but Im not sure about an apropiate prop for 3dn with that engine
look here http://www20.tok2.com/home/rc/

PD: My version of the plane is now ready to cover, VERY quick construction
Old 03-23-2002, 11:07 PM
  #2  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

Kewl, you have any pics? Did you get the dxf file for it? I'm gettin the file plotted to plans. As for prop, i dunno. Myself I'm going to put a 25bb engine on it.
Old 03-24-2002, 12:41 AM
  #3  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Hi guys,

I'm also very interested in this plane. According to the sites I found they are using 9 x 4 or 10 x 4 APC props. I'm not sure though if these are the slowfly or electric props but a friend of mine will try out the normal 9 x 4 APC prop on his Lazybee to see if the os15 engine can handle it.

Kamlooper,
I've been trying to get my hands on the dxf file. Where did you get it? Could I bother you for a copy? I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance.
Old 03-24-2002, 12:58 AM
  #4  
ProfileNut
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Fremont, CA,
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What a great plane - DXF **PLEASE**

This looks really neat. Pen-knife gone Japanese.

Got to have one - I have spent an hour in altavista translation services but can't find the plan!!

Where is it? I want to start today!

ProfileNut
Old 03-24-2002, 01:49 AM
  #5  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

Funny how I started a thread about this plane months ago but no one responded..now everyone is interested in it. I dont have the link for the file but if you private message me your email address I can send it to you. File is too big to post here (even zipped). You cant get to the file link through the altavista translater, it messes it up somehow. You just gotta hit every link w/o translation. Also there some video of the plane flying, the person(s) flying it seem to need more practise, theyre all over the place
Old 03-24-2002, 06:31 AM
  #6  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Guys,

Just in case any of you have Realflight G2, I have modified a copy of the Extra 300 profile with the dimensions for the Fun 15 plane. I would appreciate it if anyone would try it out and let me know if the dimensions are correct?

Thanks.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
6630_6179.zip (2.8 KB, 18 views)
Old 03-24-2002, 09:44 PM
  #7  
MiL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Might as well post the plans for everyone so that Kamlooper doesnt get flooded with emails.

Fun 15 DXF File

Have at it
Old 03-24-2002, 10:25 PM
  #8  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Thanks MIL,

I tried opening the file using TurboCad and I've attached what I got. Is this correct? Looks like there are some missing parts. What CAD program did you use to open this file?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	6661_6179.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	4766  
Old 03-24-2002, 10:51 PM
  #9  
MiL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 281
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Thats what i got too, i used Autocad 2000.
Old 03-25-2002, 12:52 AM
  #10  
RC_Eflyer-RCU
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Oregon sometimes, Washington Sometimes
Posts: 321
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default APC Props

DO NOT EVER use the APC E or slowflyer props on any sort of gas engine. They were not engineered to take the resonance from a glow engine.

--Paul
Old 03-25-2002, 02:29 AM
  #11  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

Could someone tell me how to print the plans with deltacad? I need step by step instructions.......i'm cad illiterate..hehe.Im using a regular hp printer.

thanks
Old 03-25-2002, 10:55 PM
  #12  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Paul,

So that means they were using normal APC props?

kamlooper,

Why don't you try Turbocad? They have a free version that you could download. And it will allow you to print full size plans into several pages.

Anyway, I decided to get some 9x4 and 10x4 APC props to test on my os15fp. According to one of the sites i visited, the 10x4 would produce 1.1kg of thrust and the 9x4 would produce 900grams thrust.
Old 03-25-2002, 11:43 PM
  #13  
MrMulligan
My Feedback: (314)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Keyport, NJ
Posts: 1,099
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

I'm flying a Quickie Bipe with an O.S. .15FP. I use an APC 8x4 prop and my buddy who built it and one for himself flies his with an OS .15FP and an 8x5 APC prop. The planes are quick with plenty of power and fly beautifully. My buddy has even take his off from grass.
Old 03-25-2002, 11:50 PM
  #14  
philfun
My Feedback: (58)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: windsorontario, CANADA
Posts: 220
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default prop

Hi,
Master Airsrew 9x4 works great on a .15fp for a funfly use.
and don't break like the APC.
It's on a plane with no landing gear.
Total weight is 950 g ,possible to hover when the wind
stay home,but out of hover can be tricky.
Great combo.
Phil
Old 03-26-2002, 01:12 AM
  #15  
Daniel Z
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Daniel Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SantiagoReg Metropolitana, Providencia, CHILE
Posts: 490
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Thanks for the interest,
Erwinf:
Tell us about thrust and also response when you finish your tests with the props.
I will try to post pics as soon as I put my hands in a camera

Greetings
Old 03-26-2002, 03:37 AM
  #16  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

OK I got turbocad, now what....lol. I cant even print the ribs.
Old 03-26-2002, 03:29 PM
  #17  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

kamlooper,

I'm in the process of separating the plan into several files so that it will be easier to print them. I'll attach the files here once I'm finished.
Old 03-26-2002, 04:40 PM
  #18  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

For starters, I've attached a Turbocad file with the rib. Just open the file and goto page setup and it will show you a preview then click on print.

Hope this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
6863_6179.zip (8.6 KB, 13 views)
Old 03-27-2002, 05:59 AM
  #19  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

erwinf, thanks for your efforts. But the rib file wont open in turbocad.
Old 03-27-2002, 08:25 AM
  #20  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

Hmm... what version of Turbocad are you using? I'm using ver 6.5.
Old 03-27-2002, 11:11 PM
  #21  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default turbocad learning

turbocad learning
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	6972_1054.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	41.9 KB
ID:	4768  
Old 03-28-2002, 02:05 AM
  #22  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

kamlooper,

There's our problem. You're using an older version of turbocad. It seems that IMSI doesn't offer v6.5 for download anymore. Let me know if you can receive a 7.5mb attachment via email and I'll send you a copy of ver 6.5.

Just in case you want to stick with ver 4, I'm attaching a copy of the ribs which I edited with ver 4.

Hope this helps.
Attached Files
File Type: zip
6983_6179.zip (13.4 KB, 12 views)
Old 03-28-2002, 11:56 PM
  #23  
kamlooper
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kamloops BC Canada
Posts: 262
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default fun 15

Thanks erwinf, that worked. At least I can get the ribs cut.

DanielZ, can you tell me what balsa sizes you used for building the fun 15? I assume 1/16 for the ribs, and 1/8 for fuse sides? 1/4 sticks for tail, stringers and 3/16 for spars......tho' i am just guessing.
Old 03-30-2002, 05:16 PM
  #24  
erwinf
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sucat Paranaque Philippines
Posts: 29
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default fun 15

kamlooper,

If you haven't started yet, the fuse sides are 1/32" with 1/8" stringers but you can use 1/16" for the sides if you want to strengthen it a bit. The ribs are also from 1/32" but again 1/16" can be used. The spars and tail are from 3/16".

Remember that the all up weight should be less that 1kg. 900g or less is recommended otherwise you won't be able to hover this plane.

I'm still working on the updated plans with descriptions of the parts in english. I'll post it here in dxf format once I finish it.
Old 04-02-2002, 01:15 PM
  #25  
Razor_Sharp
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kaufman, TX
Posts: 36
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Wing Span

What is the wing span of the Fun 15? I just downloaded the plans and I want to know what to scale the plans to.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.