Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets > Turbine Clinic > PST Jets
 600R and Futaba 12Z >

600R and Futaba 12Z

Notices
PST Jets Direct support for PST Jets Turbines.

600R and Futaba 12Z

Old 04-14-2008, 05:53 AM
  #1  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: FREEPORT, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 600R and Futaba 12Z

Hi,
I just became the proud owner of a 12Z and am having a lot of fun adjusting and setting the radio.
My 600R ran flawlessly with my 9Z radio and I had no problem starting it from the tx. I am trying to set the motor up with the 9 channel PCM receiver for autostart and I am having no success starting from the 12Z.
The transmitter is set up for PCM and everything else works fine.
Any suggestions ???
Thank you
Ed
Old 04-14-2008, 09:27 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Ed, I don''t have 12Z and 9ch PCM Rx but I don''t see any differences with different radio being used. Did you re-learn the R/C parameters?
My 14MZ works normally with standard set-up. Make sure that you re-learn the R/C.

Kraivuth S.
Old 04-14-2008, 09:52 AM
  #3  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: FREEPORT, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Kraivuth
I had to play with the trim adjustments and set the trimrate to +150 and the step to 200.
In case anyone else needs this info. Did that and engine cycled nicely.
As I was saying I JUST got the radio and am still learning all the goodies
Thanks
Ed
Old 04-14-2008, 09:56 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

I think that you exceeded the 5 seconds start cycle sequence with too small throttle trim rate. Setting the throttle trim as suggested will quicken the cycle. Thank you
Old 04-15-2008, 07:46 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
 
nt flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SaleVic, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

HI, I have a similar issue using a JR DSX9, in that I exceed the 5 sec start cycle sequence. It takes a good 5 sec to get the trim from low past centre, then to high, and by the time you cycle the throttle, 5 secs has past. Would there be any adverse affects when "learning the R/C", if I let the TEMS think the mid trim is the high position? This would save time when initiating the start.

Thanks,

Greg
Old 04-16-2008, 02:28 AM
  #6  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Calibration with Mid trim will work or you can increase the trim rate.

Regards,
Kraivuth S.
Old 04-16-2008, 07:48 AM
  #7  
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: FREEPORT, NY
Posts: 107
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Kraivuth,
I speeded up my trim and it now goes from Low to High in less than 1 second. There are only 2 points now, hign or low and midpoint. The trick was to extend the trimrate to 150.
Greg, I do not know if you can speed up the trimrate on the JR. If I can find out I will let you know
Ed
Old 04-21-2008, 06:49 AM
  #8  
 
PowerGrunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Bendigo, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 35
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Just a tip that might help you all out.

For all my PST engines I have used a 9CHP and now updated to a 14MZ approx 12 month ago and I agree with you on the trim settings but I go a different way and not use the digital trim.
With the my 14MZ I change the throttle trim to the slide ratchet on the side of the radio this will allow you to to the start sequence very fast and hassel free.

Go to the Function menu in your radio and you will see the function - control - trim settings
as I fly Mode 1 the throttle is set to J2 and I set the trim to the RST slider, once you do this re learn the settings in the ECU and you will find your starting much better.
Always have the slider to the top then when you want to activate the start sequence slide the slider down and up then throttle up and back down and the Auto does the rest)

When I used the 9CHP I had to mix the slider to the throttle to get the same result.

nt flyer,
I'm not 100% sure what the JR 9X function are as I have always used Futaba radios but you should be able to mix the slider to your throttle as I did when I used the 9CHP

I hope this helps

cheers Pete
Old 04-21-2008, 07:29 AM
  #9  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bangkok, THAILAND
Posts: 726
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Nice tips..thanks Pete [8D]
Old 04-21-2008, 05:49 PM
  #10  
Senior Member
 
nt flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SaleVic, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 124
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 600R and Futaba 12Z

Thanks guys. The 9x will do exactly the same thing. I did re learn the trim position, as mentioned above, which works. But I like the slider idea. Easier again!

Cheers,

Greg

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.