Q-40 Racing Discuss AMA 422 and any other variants of Quarter 40 racing

Sweet V Assembly Thread

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2013, 01:41 PM
delateurj

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Sweet V Assembly Thread

Hi,

Been racing for awhile, starting with T-34, then warbirds, 424, ef1 and 426 so it was time to give a 422 a try.

Settled on the Sweet V and thought I would share my assembly experience, not because I am an expert but because I am not and will likely have run into things and have questions about things that other first time Q40'ers may as well.

I'll try to create a more detailed shopping list but you can get all the specialized items you need from the following vendors, all of whom have been very good to work with:

www.cmadracing.com

www.darrolcady.com

www.sam-rairacing.com/

aeroracingengines.com/

www.kirbysgraphics.com/

I went with a Nelson for the engine but people I have been learning from run Jett's as well.

Was too anxious to get it done so this thread is really in retrospective since its pretty much done.

Attached are the before and after pictures and I'll start posting the details.

Regards,
Joe DeLateur

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Jh16898.jpg
Views:	539
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	1838253   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk32054.jpg
Views:	482
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	1838254  
Old 01-08-2013, 01:52 PM
delateurj

Default RE: Sweet V Assembly Thread

Started with installing elevator servos.

I have settled on Futaba 9650's for my 426 Ninja's so to keep fleet consistent I went with those as they seem to be one of the servos recommended for 422. I like the combination of digital for good centering and plastic gears for creating less slop over time than metal.

Bit longer than the JR 3121 or Hitect 225's or digital equivalent often used as well, so had to do a fair mount of trimming to fit into the pre-cut and installed servo tray for the Sweet V elevators.