Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Switch Question

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Switch Question

Old 12-10-2012, 06:30 AM
  #1  
rcpollo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
rcpollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Posts: 99
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Switch Question

Just bought an old nitro plane in great shape, but the battery was an old lithium battery that had one JR-type lead. It plugged into the switch, which had two other leads, one to the charge jack and one to the regulator which then went to the receiver. I'm getting a new Lithium-Ion battery with internal balance chip that has two leads. One to the charge jack and one to the switch. Since the battery has a separate charging lead, I don't need the lead that goes from the switch to the charge jack. Any problems if I just leave that lead abandoned? I can't think of any reason, but I throw it out to you guys (and gals) in case I'm missing something. Thanks.
Old 12-10-2012, 06:48 AM
  #2  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,441
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

Charge leads on RC switchs are the norm and it would difficult to find a two lead switch that did not include a charge port built in except in the case of some micro sized switchs used in small electric.

Also switchs are possibly the most fragile component of our RC systems. I would never trust a used switch from any old airplane and when I do a refurbishment of an old ship for myself or others the switchs always get tossed and a new appropriate one installed.

My best recomendation to you is don,t rely on used switchs ever. Even if the airplane appears brand new, many people will use old switchs that may have been through many crashs.

When one does use an old switch at least pay careful attention to the detents as you turn it off or on. if either one is not very distinct with a really solid click then discard it as its usefull life is about at an end. Compare these detents with a new switch and the differance will be obvious. In fact I pay careful attention to new switchs also as I have ran accross a few that there is no way I would use.


John
Old 12-10-2012, 07:01 AM
  #3  
rcpollo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
rcpollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Posts: 99
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

OK, so if I have a new switch that happens to have a built-in charge port, can I use that switch for on/off, but still use the separate charge port for the charge lead?
Old 12-10-2012, 07:07 AM
  #4  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,441
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

I do not use that battery chemistry but the extra charge lead will not effect any leads on the battery so yes you can.

John
Old 12-10-2012, 07:10 AM
  #5  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,923
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

Yes, it will be fine.
Old 12-10-2012, 07:11 AM
  #6  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Switch Question

You will have to remove the lipo pack to connect its balance lead to the charger to properly balance it. Unless you extend the balance lead ,
Old 12-10-2012, 07:44 AM
  #7  
rcpollo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
rcpollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Posts: 99
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

Battery has an internal balancing chip, so there is no separate balancing lead.
Old 12-10-2012, 07:50 AM
  #8  
rcpollo
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (6)
 
rcpollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Owings Mills, MD
Posts: 99
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

Hey Andy, fancy meeting you here!

Bob
Old 12-10-2012, 10:10 AM
  #9  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,923
Received 339 Likes on 271 Posts
Default RE: Switch Question

Yea, I haunt these corrodors a lot

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.