Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Magnets & RF Interference

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Magnets & RF Interference

Old 01-24-2016, 01:44 PM
  #1  
dasintex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,601
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Magnets & RF Interference

I'm presuming the answer is 'NO' but I thought I would ask to be sure; do Magnets, typically the ones used to hold hatches closed, cause RF Interference in either 72mhz or 2.4ghz Receivers?

Thanks.
Old 01-25-2016, 03:55 AM
  #2  
jetmech05
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 4,865
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No
Old 01-25-2016, 05:26 AM
  #3  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Another no. In planes with electronic ignition interference issues ferrite chokes can be used to filter the interference going to the receiver while not interfering with the 72 or 2.4 bands.
Are you experiencing some receiver issue?
Old 01-25-2016, 05:57 AM
  #4  
dasintex
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (10)
 
dasintex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Displaced Canadian in Central Texas TX
Posts: 2,601
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

No problems, just wanted to be sure before I use a couple of magnets to keep Hatch Covers closed.
Old 01-25-2016, 06:16 AM
  #5  
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)
 
flyinwalenda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Northeast, PA
Posts: 3,975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Neodymium magnets work great for hatches ,canopies, etc...
Old 01-25-2016, 07:07 AM
  #6  
RACE 66
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: BELLINGHAM, WA
Posts: 251
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Ok, I see the answer to the magnets pertaining to receivers. How bout' this one. I've built a 1/12 AT-6 for club racing. I installed two HiTec wing servos for ailerons. As it came out I have two magnets very close to the servo's for my covers. Running the radio, the servos work fine, I have yet get to running and airplane and see what happens with vibration. (.15 glow engine)

Any thoughts on the proximity of magnets versus the servo's?

Thanks for any input on the subject.

Mike
Old 01-26-2016, 04:27 AM
  #7  
TomCrump
 
TomCrump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Traverse City, MI
Posts: 7,614
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by RACE 66
Ok, I see the answer to the magnets pertaining to receivers. How bout' this one. I've built a 1/12 AT-6 for club racing. I installed two HiTec wing servos for ailerons. As it came out I have two magnets very close to the servo's for my covers. Running the radio, the servos work fine, I have yet get to running and airplane and see what happens with vibration. (.15 glow engine)

Any thoughts on the proximity of magnets versus the servo's?

Thanks for any input on the subject.

Mike
Run the engine and see what happens.

Many builders use magnets without problems. If you're nervous about doing so, do some testing, or change out the magnets for screws.

Last edited by TomCrump; 01-26-2016 at 04:29 AM.
Old 01-26-2016, 07:13 AM
  #8  
Bax
My Feedback: (11)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 19,483
Likes: 0
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

If the magnets are moving across the wires, then you could have a problem. If the magnets and wires are not moving, you won't have a problem. It's the magnetic field moving around that can cause problems when that moving field goes across a wire. Then a current is induced in the wire.
Old 01-26-2016, 04:25 PM
  #9  
RACE 66
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: BELLINGHAM, WA
Posts: 251
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Understand your analogy regarding magnet movement. Fortunately, the magnets are fixed on the airframe, with very thin sheet metal glued to the aileron cover for each magneto attach to. Right now, I'll take it a step further for when I get the aircraft powered up and with the engine running at various rpms in a static situation and go from there.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.