Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Robart instead of CA

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Robart instead of CA

Old 01-02-2004, 02:33 PM
  #1  
laefd
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: waco, TX
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Robart instead of CA

Want to use Robart hinges instead of the already slotted CA's. Do I just drill for the Robarts where the CA's are already slotted? Will the CA slot crack from the Robarts as the epoxy cures?

Any thoughts appreciated.
Old 01-02-2004, 05:17 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Robart instead of CA

No problem. Throwing a little carpenters glue in the slots before installing the hinges wouldn't hurt, but I don't think it's a MUST DO kind of thing either.
Old 01-02-2004, 07:14 PM
  #3  
Flypaper 2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kingston, ON, CANADA
Posts: 4,925
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Robart instead of CA

Another alternative is the nylon pinned hinges by Klett or Du-bro. Just need to widen the groove a bit. I use Goop to hold them in. Robarts work well too depending on the application.
Old 01-02-2004, 07:23 PM
  #4  
Azcat59
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,045
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Robart instead of CA

Another option--the Hayes (used to be Kraft-Hayes) hinges. Like the Robart, but without the round post portion. Just enlarge the CA slots slightly, and put them in with slow-dry epoxy. Last longer than the airplane in most cases, and you don't have to worry about lining up the drilled holes for the Robart.

Clair
Old 01-02-2004, 07:38 PM
  #5  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Robart instead of CA

I just had to replace the C/A hinges on my Extra because the hinge broke at the center line. I have never heard of this happening before.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.