Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

First day

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2002, 01:55 PM
Stagecoach62

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First day

Hello,
I'm not sure if I'm doing this right but here goes. I was a UH-1 driver in Vietnam and recently a friend suggested I become involved in RC helicopters. He stated becuase I have no knowledge of RC planes whatsoever, and have not developed any bad habits, that helicopters may be the way to start and hold my interest. Now that I'm retired and in Florida this sounds like a great idea. My question would be how do I get started? I've learned through experience that the actual participants in the "sport" are the best and most honest sources of information, so any assistance in this matter would be appreciated.
Just as a side note, and I don't knoe if anybody really cares, I was Stagecoach 62 with the 155 AHC in Ban Me Thout in 1970 and Hornet 28 with the 116 AHC in Chu Lai in 1971. Thanks for listening.
Jay Bowman
(Stagecoach 62)
Old 08-17-2002, 02:26 PM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default First day

There are two things that will help you get into helicopters. The first is to find a club, group, or any other heli pilots in your area. The reason being that if you get the sameheli, radio, engine they are using they wil be able to help you set it up. If you show up to the field with say a JR heli and no one thee is flying one it wi will be harder for them to give you help.

The second item to think about is to get a sim. IT does not really matter what sim you get. You may hear you HAVE to get this sim, or that sim is junk. It comes down to ANY sim is better then not having one. Crashing on the computer cost you nothing. Most sim are around $200.00. Well you can crash on the sim a 1000 times and it does not cost you a dime. One crash on your new toy in real like will cost around $100.00 so two crashs and you have paid for the sim.