Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Buddy Box Advice Please

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Buddy Box Advice Please

Search this Thread

Old 06-10-2006, 08:36 PM
Spiritwind
My Feedback: (44)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buddy Box Advice Please

Hi all,
I have been flying RC for over 25 years. I taught myself to fly back then as I din't know anyone who flew RC. When I started it only made sense to me to set up the elevator on the transmitter as, push up on the elevator stick to make the plane go up, and pull down on the stick to make it go down. This is how I have always flown my elevator contol.
Now, I know that is backwards of everyone else in the world, but here is my problem that I have run into.
I want to fly a turbine jet. AMA requires you to buddy box your first 5 flights to get a turbine waiver. Here is my problem. How can I buddy box with a jet instructor when I fly the elevator backwards.
Is there any way that I can still fly my way and the instructor fly his normal way while on the buddy box?? If not I would have to relearn how to fly with elevator different.
I'm open to any and all suggestions guys, and thanks in advance....Mike
[sm=confused.gif]
Old 06-10-2006, 08:50 PM
nickj

Default RE: Buddy Box Advice Please

Yes, the reversing switches can be set opposite on the transmitting and buddy transmitters. But still. . . the whole idea makes me nervous.
Old 06-10-2006, 08:53 PM
firstplaceaviator
My Feedback: (27)

Hi Mike,
I hate too say it.
But, the best solution is for you to learn to pull up and push down.
Use a simulator. It will probably save you many hours of repairs!

Doug
Old 06-11-2006, 09:04 AM
Gringo Flyer
My Feedback: (18)

If it can be set opposite on the buddy box I dont see why its a big deal. I might try the system out on a trainer or other less important aircraft to make sure it works fine.