Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

2 battery setup on receiver ????

Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

2 battery setup on receiver ????

Old 01-16-2007, 10:05 PM
  #1  
monstertruckman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: raleigh, IL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2 battery setup on receiver ????

Okay guys i need to know how to setup 2 batteries in a ziroli dc 3
I want to run 2 batteries to 1 reciver whats the setup on this
Thanks
Old 01-16-2007, 11:18 PM
  #2  
Diesel Cop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gainesville, GA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

plug 1 where it belongs the other in any empty channel
Old 01-17-2007, 06:06 AM
  #3  
camdyson
 
camdyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bairnsdale, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 870
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

That's it. But....

If you have no spare channels left in the Rx, you can also stick a y-lead in one channel, put the servo on one side and the 2nd batt on the other (via it's switch of course!).

Cam
Old 01-17-2007, 10:12 PM
  #4  
monstertruckman
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (39)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: raleigh, IL
Posts: 40
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

Thanks thats what i thought but i wanted to double check
Old 01-18-2007, 12:19 PM
  #5  
JPMacG
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ivyland, PA
Posts: 2,278
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

There is a good discussion of this at www.rcbatteryclinic.com
Old 01-18-2007, 11:12 PM
  #6  
Rod Bender
 
Rod Bender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 536
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

Good link..... Greg
Old 01-18-2007, 11:48 PM
  #7  
Newc
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Leesburg, IN
Posts: 1,047
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

That is a good link. I read the section about parallel operation and was glad to see that it paralleled my operation. Then I decided to add the site to my 'Favorites' and saw that I already had it there! Just goes to show us that it would be beneficial to do some research on our own - that we have probably already done before. Or maybe it is only a good thing for those of us who have "senior moments" to do?
Old 01-19-2007, 09:57 AM
  #8  
da Rock
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Near Pfafftown NC
Posts: 11,511
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

What's the setup?

Simple.

Two of whatever you already have. Same components, same hookup layout. Your regular battery/switch and a clone. But instead of plugging the clone into the same female plug where the regular line goes (which is really, really hard to do.... two plugs into one recepticle doesn't work real good), you plug it into any unused recepticle. Or "Y" it into any other.

Guys used to do that years ago when batteries and switches weren't as reliable as today.
Old 01-19-2007, 06:52 PM
  #9  
BalsaBob
My Feedback: (24)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Barrington, NH
Posts: 1,047
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: 2 battery setup on receiver ????

Monstertruckman, Just simply plugging a second pack into any open port on the receiver is not the recommended method. If one of the packs is failing due to a bad cell or short curcuit .... it will probably drain the other pack down with it. I use the Jomar-EMS Ultimate battery backer in most airplanes. Both packs are plugged into it and it has electronics in it to prevent the draining of the second pack I described above. It is not expensive .... and provides the true power redundency you want. Personally, in an aircraft as great (and not to mention all the work involved in building it) as a Ziroli DC3, you may want to consider Duralites. You could use 2 seperate batteries, each with their own switch harness (which has its own built in voltage regulator). Bob

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.