Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Questions and Answers
Reload this Page >

Monokote Covering Help

Community
Search
Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

Monokote Covering Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2007, 12:17 PM
USMC07Seghetti

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Monokote Covering Help

I am completely new to kits and R/C glow powered aircraft. I am covering with monokote (yea I know, not that good/easy for begginers to start out with) and am so far impressed by my work. When I covered the stabilizer (horizontal), it went on almost perfectly. I had a couple small wrinkles after I ironed it, and the heat gun took care of all of them.
But when I covered the vertical fin, I ended up with a few minor wrinkles (mabye major??) and thought the heatgun would take care of them.
I am able to get a few out at a time, but dont want to burn a hole in the covering, as I have done it twice when covering the stabilizer (pulled it off and put a new layer on).
The technique I use when I have wrinkles is to iron over/hover the wrinkles and then hit them with the heat gun. This seems to work, but not always effective. Is this a good way to approach wrinkles, or should I re-cover it?

I attached a pic of what I am talking about, it is near the rudder where the few wrinkles are. They seem to not come out.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx69876.jpg
Views:	29
Size:	26.8 KB
ID:	652991  
Old 03-30-2007, 12:48 PM
*JCB*
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: Monokote Covering Help

those are, what i like to call, "high-heat wrinkles" - sometimes it seems as if monokote needs to be set on fire to get stubborn wrinkles out...I just got done covering a plane in monokote and went through the same thing you are dealing with.

Start at one edge of the wrinklel, heat until it starts to shrink (Rember to keep the heat gun moving) and then work your way through the rest of that wrinkle.
Old 03-30-2007, 12:49 PM