Notices
Questions and Answers If you have general RC questions or answers discuss it here.

incedence

Old 03-11-2003, 12:46 PM
  #1  
kegelt
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: River Falls, WI
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

Maybe a stupid ?. I just got a Global Ultimate Bipe. I dont know how many bipes i will own so i dont really want to buy a meter. Is there anyway so check and set incidence, without purchasing a meter? or should i just quite thinking there is and buy a meter? thanks for all the info. Tom
Old 03-11-2003, 03:28 PM
  #2  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default incedence

Isn't there anyone in your club that would lend you one for 10 minutes?
Old 03-11-2003, 03:51 PM
  #3  
JohnBuckner
My Feedback: (1)
 
JohnBuckner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Kingman, AZ
Posts: 10,441
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

The right tools will never fail one. I keep two Robarts for just your situation and use them both for even monoplanes. Consider the investment of at least one if you are a builder. It will improve your monoplanes also.

John
Old 03-11-2003, 04:33 PM
  #4  
Whirley Bird
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Davenport, FL
Posts: 2,183
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

Originally posted by JohnBuckner


John
Theres no substitute for the proper tools.
I have one coming along with a CG balancer even though my home made one seems good enough.
The ACCU-THROW is going to get a lot of use here.
The prop balncer???????????
Well I had one and it worked but one day I decided to make an adapter and spin my prop on my dremel tool.At 15,000 rpm I could feel the harmonic vibrations while holding the tool in my hand so now thats how I check my props now.
First the balance then the hi- speed test
Old 03-11-2003, 05:21 PM
  #5  
CafeenMan
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Spring Hill, FL
Posts: 4,734
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

You can check by measuring the center of the LE and the center of the TE from a flat surface. It is as accurate as anything, but whatever you measure with has to be perfectly square to the surface you measure from.

The incidence meter is almost fool proof and I think you should go ahead and get one. It will save you a lot of time and give you peace of mind through your projects.
Old 03-11-2003, 11:11 PM
  #6  
kegelt
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: River Falls, WI
Posts: 44
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

thank you for all the info, i am sure getting the meter is the right hting to do, so i will look into it. Thanks again
Old 03-11-2003, 11:23 PM
  #7  
David Cutler
Senior Member
 
David Cutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 2,162
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: incedence

Originally posted by kegelt
Maybe a stupid ?. I just got a Global Ultimate Bipe. I dont know how many bipes i will own so i dont really want to buy a meter. Is there anyway so check and set incidence, without purchasing a meter? or should i just quite thinking there is and buy a meter? thanks for all the info. Tom
I had exactly the same problem when I built one recently.

I sort-of solved it by drawing a line on the end the tips of each wing with a pencil, exactly along the centre-line of the section (quite easy to do by eye), and then taking a large piece of paper, and drawing two parallel lines, the same distance the wings are apart, and using that as a gauge on the tips of the wings.

You should find the bottom wing is correct already (if it's seated properly on the fuselage sides) and the top adjustable wing can be set against it.

Put it this way, mine flies great after that mickey mouse alignment!

David C.
Old 03-11-2003, 11:52 PM
  #8  
FLYBOY
My Feedback: (11)
 
FLYBOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Missoula, MT
Posts: 9,037
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default incedence

And if there is any question about it at all, the $15 bucks one costs will pay for itself the first time you use it. I had 4 in the drawer for some reason. Sold 3 on ebay. Check there. You see them all the time.
Old 03-12-2003, 02:22 AM
  #9  
ufdfireman
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Fairfield, NJ
Posts: 86
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default incedence

Hey Whirley Bird,

The prop on the Dremel is a good idea.
What did you use to make an adapter?

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.