Community
Search
Notices
RC 1/8th Scale Buggies Discuss the ever popular category of 1/8th scale rc buggies in this forum!

Advices on 1/8 buggy for starter

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2015, 06:07 AM
branc11

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Advices on 1/8 buggy for starter

Hi,
I'm looking to buy a 1/8 buggy to start playing with my son (he's 8 now) and would appreciate some advice from the expects in the field. I have some little experience with RC and I love nitro engines. Browsing around I saw some suggestions for RC 8.2 and Inferno mp9, but I have no experience at all too understand which one would fit better. Or even if another one is the best. This is a description of what we are looking for:
- Durability over all. I do not have all the time (I wish I had) to spend repairing it. I think we will not race for now, I suspect it will be mostly bashing.
- Our budget is limited to $500. We may go a little more for the accessories needed (e.g. started kit.)
- Easy to find repair parts.
- Not very complicated to drive.

BTW, I saw RC 8.2 FT is discontinued : http://www.teamassociated.com/cars_a.../Factory_Team/

Thank you,
Regards,
Old 04-16-2015, 07:36 AM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

Welcome to RCU.

I would like to say I own a 1/8 scale buggy, but I don't. I'm moving in that direction myself. Everyone says 1/8 scale buggies make great bashers, and after owning a truggy, I've come to a conclusion that people are correct in saying so.

Just by looking over what you like in a vehicle....everything points to an electric 1/8 scale buggy IMO.

That being said, I know it's hard to change someone's mind when nitro fumes, and sound is a must. I've always wanted nitro something to mess with. A part of me still does want the nitro experience, but with plug-n-play power of brushless motors; pushed by LiPo batteries...It's hard to get excited about nitro at the moment.

Last edited by RustyUs; 04-16-2015 at 07:47 AM.
Old 04-16-2015, 07:53 AM
RustyUs