Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Airboats
Reload this Page >

Largest scale airboat built

Notices
RC Airboats Discuss R/C Airboats here!

Largest scale airboat built

Old 01-09-2018, 02:14 PM
  #1  
ElectricFlyGuy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
ElectricFlyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Largest scale airboat built

Hi all: I was wondering who has ever built a large scale air-boat and size and specs if possible. Mine has an 18" overall height , and is 33" long by 4" high (hull only) and 16 1/2" wide sporting a Leopard LBP3674 @ 1900kv motor spinning a 1060 prop. This boat scoots!! I want to build or have built for me a larger scale and I'm talking about 6' long by approx 2 3/4' wide or what ever proportionately correct. I could supply the air-boat will the much larger motor and prop needed. If anyone locates plans and even free plans, please post them here. Maybe Tom of Expresscraft might be up to the task of building me the hull or 'box', and all I need to do is outfit it, since he has more experience and materials.. In the meanwhile, I'll just play with mine....Can you do that Tom? And maybe sometime me and the wife can make the trip since we are in Palm Coast... Thanks everyone for your help and always open for tips and suggestions.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	CarsAirBoat 007.JPG
Views:	100
Size:	4.88 MB
ID:	2250538   Click image for larger version

Name:	CarsAirBoat 012.JPG
Views:	104
Size:	4.51 MB
ID:	2250539   Click image for larger version

Name:	CarsAirBoat 011.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	4.97 MB
ID:	2250540   Click image for larger version

Name:	CarsAirBoat 010.JPG
Views:	89
Size:	4.76 MB
ID:	2250541   Click image for larger version

Name:	CarsAirBoat 009.JPG
Views:	93
Size:	4.81 MB
ID:	2250542   Click image for larger version

Name:	TheBoats 001.JPG
Views:	84
Size:	4.77 MB
ID:	2250543  
Old 01-10-2018, 01:02 PM
  #2  
ElectricFlyGuy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
ElectricFlyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I also ran across this post from 2013 using a GYRO and it is a great idea for air boats,but how would they plug into the normal 3 channel ESC's in which we only use two channels anyway? Is there a place such as the AUX to plug the one plug into? Thanx.


OK, tried posting the link and I got a message that I needed at least 10 posts before I can post a link. Now I could have sworn I had hundreds upon hundreds of posts since I joined. I guess someone did some programming and their skills show...........
Old 01-10-2018, 03:21 PM
  #3  
Got RPM
 
Got RPM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: AZ
Posts: 782
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Cool

What control would you want the gyro to manage? I used one in head-holding mode on a SAW hydro rudder servo for maintaining a constant heading to counteract prop walk. It plugs into the wiring between the receiver and the servo, I turned it on and off without the third channel. How would this be an advantage in an airboat.


.
Old 01-10-2018, 04:51 PM
  #4  
ElectricFlyGuy
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
ElectricFlyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Palm Coast, FL
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Got RPM View Post
What control would you want the gyro to manage? I used one in head-holding mode on a SAW hydro rudder servo for maintaining a constant heading to counteract prop walk. It plugs into the wiring between the receiver and the servo, I turned it on and off without the third channel. How would this be an advantage in an airboat.


.
For steering control only at the rear rudders.. I know that air boats can be a bit squirrely sometimes and just wanted to know for future reference. My current air boat has three 'runners' under it to help it track and steer without it going around like a car losing control in an icy road. I use the Spektrum DX2E ( three channel I believe). Where would a gyro plug into the 3 channel receiver with it's two plugs? Channel #2 is one, but what about the AUX plug or does it get plugged into channel #3? OR are gyros for 3 channel receivers different? Thanks for responding. Oh, and you forgot to contribute a link for large scale air boat plans.............
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	1429ad66-3e04-4e43-be44-286e9eda4e2f.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	2250628  

Last edited by ElectricFlyGuy; 01-10-2018 at 04:54 PM.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.