Community
Search
Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Getting Started

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2004, 12:42 PM
paulo_64

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting Started

Hi Everyone,

I am a big fan of offshore powerboat racing and want to get into a gas boat. I am guessing a vee bottom would be best to start (but I really like cats). I have access to a small lake with no boat traffic, so there will be plenty of room to run. I just would like some input on your experience with different boats, companies, etc.

My ultimate goal is to scratch build a boat, but figure I should stick with a ready or almost ready to run seeing as I have no RC experience.

Thanks
Old 09-02-2004, 01:57 PM
pompebled

Default RE: Getting Started

Hi Paulo_64,

It's always wise to gather some experience before getting a big gas cat.
Try to find a club in your neighborhood to get some hands on advice, maybe find a second hand boat?
Stay away from the RTR boats, the majority is not very good.

As far as questions go, there's plenty of experience on this (and other) forum.

If you like cats, go for it!
There's not that much difference in setting up a cat, in fact, I think it's even easier than a mono-hull.

If you have any questions, bring them on!

Regards, Jan.
Old 09-02-2004, 02:11 PM
paulo_64

A club sounds like a great idea. Anyone know of clubs in Southeast Michigan???
Old 09-02-2004, 07:03 PM
Velocity-8
My Feedback: (15)

What is your budget? You can get a big boat (like 40-55") that runs on regular gas with a run times over 30 minutes at 30-40 mph for $1000+. You can also get a smaller nitro boat anywhere from $250 on up and run 30 mph but with shorter run times.

Without R/C exerience I suggest an assembled boat of your liking where you add the radio equipment. You might want to try electric boats first to get your feet wet (so to speak) :-) Electrics are easier to deal with and can go plenty fast.