Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

Proper Prop?

Old 05-31-2005, 10:46 AM
bassman

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Proper Prop?

Hi guys. I am very new to RC boating. I have a 38" RC PT boat with a .30 nitro engine. The prop I have on it seems to break loose in the water when the throttle is advanced to quickly or the boat is turned with any speed on it. I am an very experienced RC air guy. Do the same rules apply to boat props as air props? I would suspect that I need , larger diameter, a change in pitch, or more blades. Can you get me pointed in the right direction? It has a Octura 1440 prop on it now.

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Tr51839.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	143.6 KB
ID:	278627  
Old 05-31-2005, 04:26 PM
pompebled

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Proper Prop?

Hi Bassman,

What you describe is called cavitation, could have a number of reasons, a too small prop, if the prop is metal, is it sharpened and balanced?
Is the motor geared down or direct drive?
Geared down you could try a larger prop or a three-bladed one, if a two-bladed is stock.

A prop that's too big will choke the motor and won't allow it to get revved up.

How fast is the boat at present?
The shape of the boat will allow air to get under the boat when run significantly over scale-speed, this in turn will result in cavitation and loss of rudder control.

Just some thoughts...

Regards, Jan.
(drummerboy)
Old 06-02-2005, 12:18 PM
bassman