Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Boats > RC Boats General Discussion
Reload this Page >

A beginner question

Notices
RC Boats General Discussion Discuss general rc boating topics here.

A beginner question

Old 02-13-2010, 06:51 PM
  #1  
kristian02
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hundvåg, NORWAY
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A beginner question

Hi.

I am not sure if this is answered any were but i am going to ask anyway.

My plan was to remote control my boat. and i got a strong DC engine in it so i need to use a some kind of relay (I have fund one i think i am going to use DoubleSwitch)
And my first plan was to youse a normal FM 35mhz transmiter i got from my first heli. But then i saw a cool helicoper i am also is planing to buy:<meta http-equiv="CONTENT-TYPE" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title></title><meta name="GENERATOR" content="OpenOffice.org 3.1 (Win32)"><style type="text/css"> </style>

http://global.ebay.com/walkera_4G6_W...516515204/item

And that one includes a 2.4ghz transmitter, and after reading a litte about it i figure out i could instead putt a 2.4 reciver in my boat, and use the WK-2801 pro transmiter.

But then a friend comes over and i tell him about my plan he says i must youse a reciver off the same brand as the transmitter so my plan to use a:<meta http-equiv="CONTENT-TYPE" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title></title><meta name="GENERATOR" content="OpenOffice.org 3.1 (Win32)"><style type="text/css"> </style></meta></meta>

EK2-0424 E-sky reciver is shatered.


So my question is that he says true... so I must to use a walkera reciver also.
And can i use the WK-2801 transmitter to controll a boat???

Mmmm... This is the longes thing i have writen on a forum
Sorry for the spelling errors :P

<meta http-equiv="CONTENT-TYPE" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title></title><meta name="GENERATOR" content="OpenOffice.org 3.1 (Win32)"><style type="text/css">

<meta http-equiv="CONTENT-TYPE" content="text/html; charset=utf-8"><title></title><meta name="GENERATOR" content="OpenOffice.org 3.1 (Win32)"><style type="text/css"> </style></meta></meta></meta></meta></meta></meta>
Old 02-13-2010, 07:34 PM
  #2  
R.J. West
Senior Member
 
R.J. West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: brownsville, TX
Posts: 503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

Hi,
I'm not sure what your frenqency allocation is over in Norway, but here in the U.S. we use different freqencies for air and land/water use, that radio thats in ebay is only for air use only.
Its a safety thing, that way there are no interference with the radio signal causing a malfunction.

As long as the reciever & transmitter are of the same freqency, you may mix different brands...
Old 02-14-2010, 03:00 AM
  #3  
kristian02
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hundvåg, NORWAY
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

Is it really a big problem?? I thought it was for that reason you yused the 2.4ghz band?

So what do you suggest??
Old 02-14-2010, 05:09 AM
  #4  
Hydro Junkie
 
Hydro Junkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Marysville, WA
Posts: 10,361
Received 125 Likes on 119 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

I'm not so sure about that, RJ. I know a Spectrum won't work with a FASST and that a FASST receiver won't work with a FASST transmitter until it's been set up to do so. On the non-2.4's some units are set to transmit/receive one type of signal while others work with signals that are exactly the oposite. I don't remember which ones work with which, so you need to do some checking for compatibility. I tend to stay with all one brand so that I dont' have compatibility issues to deal with.
Old 02-14-2010, 07:10 AM
  #5  
mfr02
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackpool Lancs, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

What you really want to control your motor is an ESC (Electronic Speed Control) rather than a relay. To control the relay from the radio you would need a switcher or something attach to a servo, so why not get full control? The ESC would just plug into your RX just like a servo.
Technically, any radio will work, but in most countries 35MHz is reserved for air use and must not be used on anything else. 27MHz is fairly universally for anything, in Europe 40MHz is for surface use. 72 and 75MHz are used in the US and neighbours. 2.4GHz is the coming thing, only needing the RX to be "bound" to the TX, no crystals to worry about, no worries about interference with other users. Different makers have different ideas about protocols, so its best to stick to a single manufacturer. The only downside is that 2.4GHz doesn't work in submarines.
Old 02-14-2010, 02:41 PM
  #6  
kristian02
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Hundvåg, NORWAY
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

Yes but they costs a fortune for a 15A one


I think i am going to stick to my plan and use this: www.dimensionengineering.com/DoubleSwitch.htm it is maby a little to weak but it might be enught


Old 02-14-2010, 02:53 PM
  #7  
Dan S
Senior Member
 
Dan S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oromocto, NB, CANADA
Posts: 2,882
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

here are the frequency allocation for Norway.

http://www.rc-network.de/magazin/art...aender/NOR.pdf

and here is a link for all frequencies allocated for the world, just pick where your at:

http://www.rc-network.de/magazin/art...027-01eng.html

Dan.
Old 02-15-2010, 12:21 AM
  #8  
R.J. West
Senior Member
 
R.J. West's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: brownsville, TX
Posts: 503
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

Hi mrf02,

Thanks for clarifing that, its just i wasnt too sure about your frenqency allocations over there in Europe.
Old 02-15-2010, 03:09 PM
  #9  
mfr02
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Blackpool Lancs, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 1,432
Likes: 0
Received 32 Likes on 32 Posts
Default RE: A beginner question

The first hit for "mtronics viper15"
http://www.modelsinmotion.co.uk/prod...empo_15_id2427
Compared to the switcher in your link, not a huge increase. There are lower price devices available if you look, removing the need to drive in Schumacher mode, but leaving the ability to do so if you really want to.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.