Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

steering problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2016, 09:32 PM
josser9

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default steering problems

I have a red cat racing blackout xte pro & the steering continues to get messed up after a sharp turn or i jump it......can anybody help? Whats causing it?
Old 03-29-2016, 01:57 PM
RustyUs

Received 40 Likes on 38 Posts

What exactly is "messed up"? Please describe the problem better. My first guess is your servo saver is too loose.
Old 03-29-2016, 02:23 PM
josser9

everytime I make a sharp turn it loses center (pulls to either side) then I have to recenter it untill next time. I replaced the servo & the servo saver(from the spring to the solid metal piece)
I appreciate you taking the time to help me out. As you can probably tell im a newbie to the hobby so any info you throw my way is greatly appreciated
Old 03-29-2016, 05:03 PM
RustyUs

Out of all the Redcat models, the Blackout XTE Pro was looking pretty good in my book. That one caught my eye and looked pretty well built. I looked at the manual and I didn't see a servo saver at all. Just a steering bellcrank, linkage, and servo. Not unless this is the servo saver:
You said you replaced the servo. Did the stock on just give up on you?
First thing I do for a steering issue is take the servo out of the equation. Meaning, undo the linkage to the servo and operate the steering system by hand and check for binding. I'm all for servo savers, but some designs just don't make sense to me. What's highlighted in the picture above is new to me. How much force is needed to engage the servo saver?
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	saver..JPG
Views:	806
Size:	42.3 KB
ID:	2155036  
Old 03-29-2016, 05:36 PM
RustyUs