Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

starts but stalls

Old 10-20-2006, 03:54 PM
  #1  
spedfrek
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: , NB, CANADA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default starts but stalls

hi everyone i just purchased a speedy tiger from e-bay but after start-up it stalls as soon as you try to accelerate. the manual is very vague but says about adjusting main needle to 2 -1/2 trrns out and says to adjust slow needle but thats it ????? any ideas.15cxo engine, any help would be apreciated THANKS
Old 10-20-2006, 07:34 PM
  #2  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

To adjust the high speed needle(gold, thin one) tighten it all the way until you feel resistance, and back out 2 1/2 turns. For the low speed, adjust it until it is flush with the carbereuter housing and go in about a turn. Is the car new or used? Try letting it warm up for about a minute or two and then slowly apply throttle. If it still is stalling after warm up and proper tuning, the piston and sleeve may be shot.
Old 10-20-2006, 07:41 PM
  #3  
philreuman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Posts: 139
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

sounds too lean. open the high speed needle 1/4 turn and try again.
Old 10-20-2006, 07:42 PM
  #4  
basher89423
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minden, NV
Posts: 17
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

probably why it wuz on ebay
Old 10-20-2006, 07:48 PM
  #5  
CustomTamiyas4Life
Senior Member
My Feedback: (34)
 
CustomTamiyas4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: CT
Posts: 7,074
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

From that little info you cannot infur much.

Not true with everything. If you watch who you're buying from and find out EXACTLY what you are buying, ebay can be a good place to shop.
Old 10-20-2006, 07:57 PM
  #6  
spedfrek
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: , NB, CANADA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

it is new.do i adjust the low speed flush with linkage on side of carb??
Old 10-20-2006, 08:01 PM
  #7  
spedfrek
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: , NB, CANADA
Posts: 6
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

it will burn a full tank of fuel in about 5 min idling is that normal???
Old 10-20-2006, 08:13 PM
  #8  
46u
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
46u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Macon, GA
Posts: 22,095
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

I am guessing it is new and when breaking in a new engine it is set very rich to make sure the new engine gets plenty of lubrication as well as helps it stay cool. Once broke in you tune and the fuel should last longer.
Old 10-20-2006, 10:17 PM
  #9  
AznBash3r
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Niles, IL
Posts: 1,328
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: starts but stalls

yes, the engine comes rich from factory. mine started perfectly during break-in, but with some throttle it would stall easily. i had to lean out the needles, and it fixed the problem.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.