Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Suggestions for upgrading my RTR car

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2007, 01:45 PM
420Speedster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suggestions for upgrading my RTR car

I purchased a HPI Sprint 2 with the T10 Venom truck body. Its a sweet ride imo for the $225 I paid for it.
It has a 1800mh battery, 17T motor, and a crappy 6hr charger with no lights, meter or quick charge.
I want a faster motor, can someone explain to me the Turn rating?
I want a better battery, should I got higher mh rating or go with Nimh?
I want a better charger, one that quick charges and discharges, any suggestions?
Im totally new at this and on a tight budget, so I need some expert help. Thanks.
Old 04-23-2007, 02:20 PM
HpiDrifter420

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Suggestions for upgrading my RTR car

i have a sprint2 also and your going to want for batteries atleast 3600mahs nimhs or better. for a charger duratrax peak charger is nice. go to towerhobbies.com and look they have a big selection or chargers to choose from. i find the stock motor to be fine for my needs right now as the car is more setup to drift. alot of people like to go brushless for motors. now if you upgrade your motor you will need to upgrade your esc. i think the stock one wont handle anything under 15 turns or 13 turns. the higher the number of turns is more geared torque. the lower the number the faster the motor is. it gets very confuzing so you need to know what you want the car for. novak and mamba max are what people like to use for brushless motors. but they are going to cost a brushless motor/esc combo will cost your around 200-250 so you might want to stay brushed for now. thats all that i kan think of for now.
Old 04-23-2007, 02:41 PM
420Speedster

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts