Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Completely New to RC Cars -- A quick question

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Completely New to RC Cars -- A quick question

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2007, 01:05 AM
NathanMarks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Completely New to RC Cars -- A quick question

Hey guys,

I am completely new to RC cars and just wanted to ask one quick question that i'm sure will be easy to answer.

I want to build up my first car from scratch, as that part of it is more than half the interest I have in RC cars, it'd be no fun to buy a prebuilt one for me.

But what I need to know is, what do I need to buy to have everything I need to make a fully functional nitro powered RC car?

Thankyou

-Nathan Marks
Old 04-30-2007, 01:16 AM
Foxy

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Completely New to RC Cars -- A quick question

Depends on brand. The best tip I can give you is to select a car first, then download the manual from the website of the manufacturer, in the first few pages it will tell you exactly what you need. Here is a short list of stuff it's good to have...

Needle nose pliers
Heavy duty pliers
Accurate calipers
Good set of Hex wrenches
Good set of screwdrivers
Threadlock (blue NOT RED!!)
CA (Superglue)
Grease
Machine oil (bearing oil)
Side cutters
Large (stanley type) knife
Small scalpel type knife
Heavy duty scissors
Curved body scissors
Reamer
Tweezers
Dremel
Sandpaper
Flywheel tool (ask your LHS)
Sticky pads (like the ones they stick posters up with)
Sticky velcro