Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Car General Discussions
Reload this Page >

Is it bad to let the tank run out of gas?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Car General Discussions This forum is for all general discussions related to radio control cars. Check forums below for more specific categories if applicable.

Is it bad to let the tank run out of gas?

Search this Thread

Old 02-11-2009, 02:48 PM
breezerboat

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Is it bad to let the tank run out of gas?

I am new to the hobby and I have always just let the thing run out of gas before adding more. Is that bad?
Old 02-11-2009, 02:54 PM
J4K3SHNEG

Default RE: Is it bad to let the tank run out of gas?

Try to top it up while its running so you don't have to restart and the engine all the time and so its still lubricated but it wont do much harm just try and avoid it,
Old 02-11-2009, 04:24 PM
olkleaf

doing this does leave the engine with a second or two with a lack of lubrication. but i dont think a second of the car being lean will harm it.
its more harm full if you run your engine lean regularly.

it does sound very inconveniat to be doing this, just refill the car after 10 minutes or so.
Old 02-11-2009, 04:34 PM
Dale Gribble
My Feedback: (4)

It's easy to tell when the car is about to run out because the RPMs go up. When the tank empties, the carb begins pulling in air with the fuel at the bottom of the gas tank and that leads to a lean condition. I usually refill or if I am done running, I will let the car go down to idle and die on its own. I think the only really bad thing about letting the tank run out is if you are running at wide open throttle in which case a lack of lubrication can be a problem.
Old 02-12-2009, 07:39 AM
Argess

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts