Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Hard packed dirt/ offroad speed?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2016, 07:39 PM
traindude2002

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hard packed dirt/ offroad speed?

Hey, everyone, I'm new to the RC community and I want to buy a new truck. Sure I have a 2WD 2011 Traxxas Grave Digger but it's not all that great. I'm looking for another Traxxas vehicle and I just want to know whats a good speed for doing some jumps at my local hobby shop which has a hard packed dirt track. Thanks a lot, Luke
Old 12-23-2016, 08:46 PM
EXT2Rob
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hey Luke, welcome to the addiction. What are the other drivers running at that track? Do you have any racing plans? The common track vehicles are short course trucks like the Slash, and maybe stadium trucks like the Rustler, I've heard they're making a comeback at some tracks. Otherwise it's racing buggies which Traxxas doesn't make. Like Associated, Losi/TLR, Mugen, etc.

But that's if you're thinking of racing. If you're just looking for a fun driver (do you have a place to run besides the local hobby store track?) there are other options.

Not sure what you mean by "a good speed for jumps". Pretty much any Traxxas vehicle can handle moderate jumps that any public track may have. Are you asking what sort of car would be good for the jumps at your track?. Slash definitely. 2wd or 4wd? Depends on if you want to have a rig that fits in a racing class. Most short course racing is 2wd Spec. Unless they have enough 4wd SCTs to form a class. But Slash's aren't that great racing, so I've read, unless you use the LCG chassis and upgrade the driveshafts. But for just bombing around, Slash is fine.