Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

OFFICAL PEDE THREAD

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2008, 08:11 PM
traxxaspede

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: OFFICAL PEDE THREAD

i jsut finished reading the last ten pages or so. what s all that talk about you HAVE to use the steel idler geer with steel top gear and diff ring gear. NOT TRUE. ive been using an amulin one for a couple months. i does get worn out, but it works fine!

also, i want to upgrade my shocks. is there any performance differance between alum. big bores or alum. ultra shocks (i think the ultr shocks are $5 more and have bigger cylinders). also, any other recommended shocks? i dont want to spend too much money.

Are the jato shafts any stronger at the ends than stock? ive been having problems with those and also the stub axles. are there any all steel stub axles for the rear that fit with 5x11 bearing/rpm carriers and minimal modding?
Old 09-19-2008, 08:44 PM
aftermarket
My Feedback: (2)

On the aluminum idler: It's best to use the same metals together. Your aluminum idler is wearing out and it costs 2 to 3 times more than a steel one, which will last much longer (reason why you use the same metals)... the only downside is steel is a bit heavier, that's all.

Big bores cost 5 dollars a pair more than the other version of the aluminum shocks (can't remember name atm) I believe better damping and durability is achieved w/ the big bores. I love mine, that's for sure!

Jato shafts work well. Using steel output yolks will also help.
Old 09-19-2008, 09:58 PM
beaver180
My Feedback: (10)

Yo guys...

Picked up an XL-5 roller and am wondering if I can use a 20T 540 motor and a Futaba MC-230 esc in it and get ok to good results??? Should I change the pinion from a 19T??