Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

Need help with gear selection

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2006, 09:19 PM
Jailhouseracer87

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help with gear selection

I have an Associated Rc10T4 SE, and have upgraded it to the following. Carbon parts, aluminum front blukhead, titanium turn buckles, Streak forward only speed controller, and a Epic "shock" 10turn flat wire motor. At first i was having a problem og burning holes in the bottom of my packs(3000n-mh). i currently have a 16 tooth pinion gear, and the factory 87tooth spur gear.....anyone have a similar setup...and any suggestions. Im new to this hobby, and would jus like sum advice...thanks
Old 02-06-2006, 08:47 AM
Jailhouseracer87

Default RE: Need help with gear selection

anybody?..i kno someone can give a noob sum advice...
Old 02-06-2006, 09:09 AM
speed_racer

also seems at wide open throttle, that my steering kinda "freezes" when i turn it one way, but when i let off the throttle slightly, my steering works as its suppose to...and ideas there?
Old 02-06-2006, 10:34 AM
Jailhouseracer87

come on guys...gimme sum responses....i read the sticky up top...but jus would like a general idea of what i should try. Also, what do yall think of the Epic Shock, 10turn motor...the good and bad if any...thanks alot.
Old 02-06-2006, 12:34 PM
Jailhouseracer87

Nobody eh?...gonna tinker with it at lunch time, so if anyone has sum helpful advice, please feel free to lemme kno...thanks
Old 02-06-2006, 06:13 PM
ASSOCIATED_DRIVER

I looked up the streak ESC's spec and the motor limit is at 12t, and you are using a 10t flat - that is just to much for you ESC, on motor limits the lower the T number the hotter the motor, means draws more power, and technically means a faster motor (depends on the brand)