Community
Search
Notices
RC Electric Off-Road Trucks, Buggies, Truggies and more Discuss electric RC off-road, buggies & trucks here. Also discuss brushless motors, speed controllers aka ESC's, brushed motors, etc

ESC + turns limit for motors

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2007, 07:45 PM
nikg

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ESC + turns limit for motors

What is the determining factor in the lower limit of turns an ESC can handle? For example, why is an ESC only rated down to say a 15T motor but not below? Is it mainly a current draw issue? The fewer the turns the more current the motor draws? Or is this only part of the picture or not at all in the reason at all?

If it is a current issue, then can one use a 12T motor on an esc rated to 15T provided the gearing is mild? (small pinion and/or big spur gear)
Old 12-04-2007, 08:00 PM
cheech4

Default RE: ESC + turns limit for motors

no you will fry your ESC doing that. always respect the turn limits in a esc. im not technical but i have experimented.
Old 12-04-2007, 08:07 PM
nikg

Thanks cheech.

Anybody technical out there? Not that I don't trust you, Cheech. I will observe the rules, but now I'm just curious about the explanation.
Old 12-04-2007, 08:15 PM
guver
My Feedback: (325)

ORIGINAL: nikg

What is the determining factor in the lower limit of turns an ESC can handle? For example, why is an ESC only rated down to say a 15T motor but not below? Is it mainly a current draw issue? The fewer the turns the more current the motor draws? Or is this only part of the picture or not at all in the reason at all?

If it is a current issue, then can one use a 12T motor on an esc rated to 15T provided the gearing is mild? (small pinion and/or big spur gear)

It sounds like you have it all right. The 12 turn motor would be ok in a lightweight or mild geared set-up. Different esc's may be closer to the rating than others of course.
Old 12-04-2007, 08:22 PM
nikg