Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Flight Simulator Software
Reload this Page >

Realflight G2 and Mac

Notices
RC Flight Simulator Software Discuss rc flight simulator software here. Aerofly Pro, RealFlight G3, XTR, Reflex, etc.

Realflight G2 and Mac

Old 01-11-2002, 08:00 PM
  #1  
Chris Hinds
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Has anyone tried running Realflight G2 on a Mac using Connectix PC Emulator? Thinking of a Mac Laptop and would be nice to be able to use RFG2 while at Uni. G2 Runs fine on my P4 1.8/GF3 - wondering if anyone has tried it on a Mac?

Thanks


Chris
Old 01-13-2002, 12:02 AM
  #2  
mvigod
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 14,189
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Great question...would also like to know if anybody has pulled off this stunt. Would love to fly this on my laptop in bed (not sure how the wife will feel about it?)


Anybody tested this?
Old 01-13-2002, 01:29 AM
  #3  
Scotty740
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Nashport, OH
Posts: 645
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

I haven't tried it but have heard from some that have. It doesn't work. Mainly because the interface can't connect with the emulator software and the emulation software really drags the speed down.
Old 01-13-2002, 12:31 PM
  #4  
Chris Hinds
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glasgow, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 24
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

I have looked over the details of Connectix Virtual PC 5.0 for the Mac and it seems it does not emulate either a P.III or 3D Graphics Acceleration. So for now Realflight on the Mac is out. I suspect this means we have to keep the PC about just for Realflight...
Old 01-16-2002, 07:20 PM
  #5  
amcross
Senior Member
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tuscola, IL
Posts: 2,636
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Unfortunately, we've not talked to anyone who could get G2 running on a mac. and we have heard from a few who had some really ugly problems trying.

Sincerely,
Mrs. AnnMarie Cross
Senior Manager, Proprietary Services and Support
Great Planes Model Distributors
[email protected]
www.greatplanes.com
www.bestrc.com
NO AUTORESPONDER
Old 08-25-2003, 12:54 AM
  #6  
geardaddy
My Feedback: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Bloomington
Posts: 462
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Am i to understand the RCU main man is a Mac user??
Old 08-25-2003, 01:08 AM
  #7  
briankenney91
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Thats the way I took it too Jack. That just goes to show how smart Marc is for running a Mac. Now if only Great Planes were as smart and would make realflight for Mac.
Old 08-25-2003, 11:01 AM
  #8  
nahumfre
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kibbutz lehavot habashan, ISRAEL
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

I took a Pramine (anti vomit medication) and brought a P4 for my son's games and realflight for me.
I still rather use my Mac G4 for every thing including flight simulator meaning I am on the lookout for a decent simulator for R/c on a Mac - if X plan can do it for full size flight simulator (using open GL which is supported in wintell world and also used by Aerofly).
I think some one out there should do it for R/C
Mrs. AnnMarie Cross
Senior Manager, Proprietary Services and Support
Great Planes Model Distributors
please take note
Thank
Nahum
Old 08-25-2003, 01:56 PM
  #9  
briankenney91
Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bridgewater, VA
Posts: 87
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Realflight G2 and Mac

Just imagine how much more business great planes would do if they made a mac version. I would definently buy one.
Old 09-22-2003, 07:39 PM
  #10  
shades
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: sebastopol, CA
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Realflight G2 and Mac

hey i pulled it off on my mac with virtual pc 6.0 and i also love to use the x plane simulator...macs are the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!...i thought every one hated macs?
Old 10-06-2003, 01:18 AM
  #11  
NewFlyerGlenn
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cokeville, WY
Posts: 15
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Realflight G2 and Mac

Hey Shades,

Please tell me how you made G2 work with Virtual PC. I've tried to install it; it won't let me get beyond entering the serial numbers of the software and the controller.

Thanks,

Glenn

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.