Notices
RC Gliders, Sailplanes and Slope Soaring Discuss rc gliders,rc sailplanes and slope soaring in this forum. Thermaling techniques, airfoils, tips, etc

Ready to learn

Old 12-12-2003, 05:15 PM
Chevyowner

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ready to learn

Hi guys! I'm brand new to sailplanes or flying for that matter. Flew a little over 20 years ago but quit to raise the kids. I'm skilled as a builder and have good understanding of flight dynamics but haven't flown yet. I have built a Great Planes Spectra, followed the instructions carefully. Made sure all critical alignments were correct and installed Futaba system.

I also joined recently a local club and will find an instructor to help. I have a few questions about sailplanes ie - wind limitations - strengths or weakness of this model - the few fliers I've met so far fly powered planes so I'm asking the pros here before I fly the first time.

Also I plan on building a good 40/60 size trainer when money permits. Would like to build the Great Planes Old Timer. It's rudder and elevator only. Can I add ailerons since they're used on most planes you fly?

By the way, I'm 69 years old and open to any and all suggestions.

Have a great day.
Old 12-12-2003, 10:23 PM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default RE: Ready to learn

ORIGINAL: Chevyowner

Hi guys! I'm brand new to sailplanes or flying for that matter. Flew a little over 20 years ago but quit to raise the kids. I'm skilled as a builder and have good understanding of flight dynamics but haven't flown yet. I have built a Great Planes Spectra, followed the instructions carefully. Made sure all critical alignments were correct and installed Futaba system.

I also joined recently a local club and will find an instructor to help. I have a few questions about sailplanes ie - wind limitations - strengths or weakness of this model - the few fliers I've met so far fly powered planes so I'm asking the pros here before I fly the first time.