Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

What kind of Tx should I get to fly a cp head

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

What kind of Tx should I get to fly a cp head

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2004, 03:29 PM
micronut154

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What kind of Tx should I get to fly a cp head

I am new to the heli world and am just trying to figure somethings out. I will be getting my Aerohawk any day now and I know that it is a fixed pitch but when I get good at flying I am going to want to get something better. I have been loking at the Hitec Eclipse 7. What do all of the terms mean?
Dual rates, exponential rates, shift select, and how can you tell if the Tx has ccpm mixing. I know this one does but that is just because it has a heli mode but what do you look for if it doesn't say heli?
Also, on recivers what does single conversion mean? Is there a double conversion? What kind of radio equipment do I need to run a decent heli? Anybody know about the Vg6000? Is it any good? Will it even run a cp heli?[sm=drowning.gif][sm=confused.gif]
Old 01-29-2004, 04:58 PM
FHHuber
Banned

Default RE: What kind of Tx should I get to fly a cp head

You can program in CCPM with even a 12-15 yr old Futaba Super-7... takes some playing with the programmable mixes, but it can be done. (the new 120 deg swashplates hadn't even been thought of when this TX was made...)

That said. the instruction manuals for mst radios can be downloaded. You can read the mix capabilities and KNOW what you are getting into. (very helpful when choosing your TX to know what it can do) To my knowledge, all the modern 6 ch or better computer radios (not counting Hitech Flash series...) can do just about any mix you need.