Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Collective

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2004, 03:53 PM
Faenor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Collective

This may be the most newbie-ish question, but since I'm a total newbie, It feels appropriate :P

Because my understanding of real helicopters is that you have have Tail Rotor, Cyclic, and Collective and Collective is usually on a stalk on your left hand side that you pull to increase, does anyone/everyone/some set there left stick to pull for collective (towards you) or do you push away from you to increase it?

Just curious, sorry if this has been discussed ad infinitum, I could not find anything definitive on the subject...

Thanks!

Fae
Old 01-30-2004, 04:05 PM
Super-Hornet

Default RE: Collective

Hi

I think most of us uses Mode 2 controller...that is left stick for collective/throttle. Whether push or pulling towards you is lifting is all up to you. U just have to change the DIP switch or any switch in your TX to reverse it.

I personally uses pulling closer to you for lift. (Opposing to real airplane) My friend uses Laser 4 and he prefer pushing away.

Super-Hornet
Old 01-30-2004, 04:05 PM
wisdom-seeker

Think of the collective as the throttle. The uniform pattern for power control is up for more and down (towards you) for less. The same is true except you are also controlling lift.
Old 01-30-2004, 05:39 PM
Faenor

Wisdom-Seeker,

I started off using the same methodology as I use for my airplanes, with the left hand pushing (away) to increase power (lift), but what all my experience has shown me is that collective on a helicopter is controlled by pulling the collective lever up to increase pitch on the rotor, with the throttle controlled at the end of that lever with a "twist" type control...