Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Rotor RPM Problems

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 11:22 PM
kenjd

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rotor RPM Problems

I have a Raptor 30 V2 and have been using a tower hobbies Digital Mini-Tach for airplanes. A local guy at the field said that would not work I needed a heli one. I just was wondering if it would work and if not what is a good tach to purchase. Rotor RPM seems to be very high but not sure. Any info would be helpful.

Thanks

Ken
Old 12-24-2004, 05:39 AM
loadthis
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Rotor RPM Problems

I dont see why it wouldn't work. Just take your measurements outboard of the flybar paddles.
Set it on two blade and measure the RPM on the main blades. I've never heard of a tachometer made just for helis.
I am still a newbie to helis but have used tachs for years on planes. Tachs measure the RPM by sensing the changes in light as the blade passes. If you hold your tach up to a flouescent light you will get a reading because flourescent lights flicker at a certain " flash per minute".
Take your readings outdoors without artificial light and you should be fine.

Happy holidays!
Old 12-24-2004, 12:21 PM
kenjd

That is what i thought but he was pretty positive about it. Where do you think is the best place to put the tach to get a good accurate reading. I was always checking at the tips.

Thanks

Ken
Old 12-24-2004, 04:47 PM
El_Guapo

The reason your plane tach may not work for helis is because you need to be within a few inches of the blade to measure the RPM. You're supposed to be checking the headspeed on the helicopter when it is in flight or in hover - Do you really want to be a few inches away from the rotor while the heli is in the air?
I guess you could try mounting the tach on the boom to get it close, but you still need a way to read the rpm.