Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Complete beginner questions (and you thought you were in trouble!!)

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Complete beginner questions (and you thought you were in trouble!!)

Search this Thread

Old 09-07-2005, 06:07 PM
brewdog67

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete beginner questions (and you thought you were in trouble!!)

I am completely new to the RC world and and purchased a Blade CP. Can someone explain the various terms? For example, what is the aileron roll control? What is its purpose (left/right and forward/backwards)? Is this the smaller blade on top of the big blade? What does the big blade do - only provide lift or direction also? Is there a "basic" beginners guide anywhere? What is the best way to learn to "fly/hover" by yourself? Can you make your own training wheels with wooden dowels? What do the various slide controls on the remote do (the ones below and beside the two sticks)?

Thanks for any and all help!!
Paul
Old 09-07-2005, 07:38 PM
cruzmissile

Default RE: Complete beginner questions (and you thought you were in trouble!!)

well... I'm no expert but The manual should tell you some of the fuctions to the heli.

what is the aileron roll control?
This controls the heli in left/right movements.

Is this the smaller blade on top of the big blade?
The smaller blades are called paddles. They control the left/right, forward/aft (backward) movements. They do this by changing the blade angles. This test should only be done below the 50% throttle control. When the blades are turning you can see the paddles turning with the controls of the transmitter. For example when you push forward on the elevator controls the paddles will angle forward. And this will do it all the way around depending on what imput you command.