Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

Complete Beginner - Raptor 30

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

Complete Beginner - Raptor 30

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2005, 12:44 PM
joshiestevens

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Complete Beginner - Raptor 30

Hi there.

A couple of months ago I tried endlessly to fly the Micro electric helicopters, but had no sucess at all. When I lifted off it just flew straight to the other side of the garden. I have been advised the only real way to start is PROPERLY by going into the Nitro Helis.

I was advised by a UK champion to get a raptor 30. What do you think of this. I amd eciding whether to purchase the kit, or the ARTF veraion. How many hours would the kit take to build?

How many hours does it take to learn to hover and then fly confidently etc. Also, after you have built the heli according to the manual, do you need to fiddle about with all the pitches etc to get it to fly right or is that done when you build it.

Thanks in advance
Josh
Old 09-15-2005, 01:46 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 352 Likes on 282 Posts
Default RE: Complete Beginner - Raptor 30

Get the kit. That way you will know how to take it apart when you crash it. You will also know that every bolt is properly locktited and tightened. I can build one in a day and have it ready for flight in a weekend. Setup is half the battle. It's a great beginner ship that will take you right on to 3d with little if any mods. Parts are cheap and readily available and help is easy to come by.

Don't bother with the book that comes with it, go here and follow his directions to the letter, it will take you through radio setup and even repair. http://www.raptortechnique.com

Heliproz has great raptor deals, http://www.heliproz.com