Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Helicopters > RC Helicopter Beginners Forum
Reload this Page >

beginners radio set up

Community
Search
Notices
RC Helicopter Beginners Forum If you are a beginner or "newbie" to RC heli's feel free to post your questions right here in the rc heli beginner forum.

beginners radio set up

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2006, 04:10 PM
sydr1234

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default beginners radio set up

hello rc universe. Im new to the hobby and need help please!!. Firstly, im stubborn and stupid, dont know anyone in the sport, and wont be joining a club. Here is my issue. I bought a secondhand robbe moskito. I believe the machine is well set up but i have had to get a new transmitter. However, the jargon and complication is driving me mad. Because i am stupid and in experiened the heli is much less forgiving now than it was. please consider the following

Are the EPA just a case of limiting the servo range of movement so as not to overload the servo at a point of over extension?
What is the importance of dual rate settings, and do all of the channels need to be adjusted similarly?
Do EXPONENTIALS soften the inputs (ie for beginners)?
How do i set a pitch or throttle curve for normal flying. Ive heard about degrees, but the controller only seems to show %

I know - another stupid idiot, but i am prepared for success by means of trial and error. Im in this for the long haul and will probably be much more knowledgeable for it. I have a futaba 6exhp radio

Old 02-13-2006, 05:03 PM
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)

Received 352 Likes on 282 Posts
Default RE: beginners radio set up

Yes EPA adjusts total servo travel so as to avoid binding. Dont forget that moving the contol in or out on the servo accomplishes the same thing. Ideally you want to use a hole on the servo arm that gives you full motion with the EPA's as close to 100 as possible and equal on both sides. Say 90 and 90 not 75 and 95.