Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

First time Jet?

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

First time Jet?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2011, 07:29 PM
johnvan29

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time Jet?

Hey guys, I am John and an new on the forums. I have been flying planes for around 6 years now and have worked my way up from a Hobbico Nexstar to EDFs and 3D models, pretty much all of them. The one thing that I have not flown and have been very interested in are Turbine jets. In my opinion, I think I am ready and my father has wanted me to get involved with them very much so lately (he is a real pilot himself). What is a good way to get started in this more advanced sector of rc airplanes? I do not have much knowledge on jets specificially, I mean i understand how a turbine works and how to start them and such, but is there a step by step process I need to follow to start flying my own turbine jet? Also, what is a good starter jet as far as they go? and are there such things as Turbine ARFs? Dont hate if I am completely wrong lol... Thanks a million!
Old 04-19-2011, 08:49 PM
gtoro26
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: First time Jet?

many have taken my advice when starting out
generally speaking if you want a more advanced trainer that will handle a wide range of engines thrust
i believe you will have the least amount if any problems with the boomerang elan
and i have mine powered with jet central rabbit
it is awesome and i have had the opportunity toget rid of it for a great price but i just cant let it go
i have flown this jet for 2 years now and have had two of them
my engine is 19 lbs have flown it all the way up to 30 lb jet cat 120
in my opinion the 20 pound range is more than enough
and i fly for ten minutes and land with more than a quarter tank very efficient the rabbit
very simple set up and everythinkg is easy to get to