Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

BVM Plug and Play F16

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

BVM Plug and Play F16

Old 02-25-2021, 01:17 AM
  #376  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Does anyone have operating speed brakes on their 1/6 F16's? Was it ever an option?
Old 04-14-2021, 02:46 AM
  #377  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 446
Likes: 0
Received 90 Likes on 74 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Old 04-14-2021, 10:33 AM
  #378  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,357
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyrcjets View Post
Does anyone have operating speed brakes on their 1/6 F16's? Was it ever an option?
They are available on the 1/5th size model but I do not believe they were ever available on the 1/6th size models.
Old 04-14-2021, 01:16 PM
  #379  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
They are available on the 1/5th size model but I do not believe they were ever available on the 1/6th size models.
They were available through Global Jet Club. I have a set of them, but I'd like to know more about the installation. This is what I have so far..



Old 04-14-2021, 09:16 PM
  #380  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,357
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Well I got the BVM version of the 1/6th size F16 when I bought mine, so I'm not going to be able to help you. Considering the attach method for the 1/6th vertical stab on the 1/6th, making operational speed brakes would be a challenge as the above poster mentioned.
Old 04-14-2021, 11:02 PM
  #381  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Zeeb View Post
Well I got the BVM version of the 1/6th size F16 when I bought mine, so I'm not going to be able to help you. Considering the attach method for the 1/6th vertical stab on the 1/6th, making operational speed brakes would be a challenge as the above poster mentioned.
I'm the above poster and the one asking the question. No worries, I found the info I needed.
Old 04-21-2021, 04:29 PM
  #382  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 446
Likes: 0
Received 90 Likes on 74 Posts
Default

Deleted

Last edited by Desert Fox 1; 04-21-2021 at 07:15 PM. Reason: Wrong thread
Old 04-21-2021, 05:26 PM
  #383  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,357
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Desert Fox 1 View Post
https://youtu.be/cRu8AYbZXkk

Cheers!
Desert Fox 1
Dummy.....

You already posted the video and the model as specified right on the screen here, is that its a I/5th SCALE, not a 1/6th scale as we're talking about in this thread.
Old 07-10-2021, 06:15 AM
  #384  
Desert Fox 1
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 446
Likes: 0
Received 90 Likes on 74 Posts
Default


Cheers!
Desert Fox
Old 10-10-2021, 05:55 PM
  #385  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Center tank

Can anybody tell me how they mounted the center tank on the BVM JL F16 1/6th scale.
Seems very weak and hard to get to where the holes are.
Thanks..
Old 10-11-2021, 06:15 PM
  #386  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,357
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyrcjets View Post
Can anybody tell me how they mounted the center tank on the BVM JL F16 1/6th scale.
Seems very weak and hard to get to where the holes are.
Thanks..
The center tank? Mines got four tanks, two in back and two forward on each side of the centerline. Since I put a JetCat 180 in mine, I converted one of forward tanks to fuel and left the other as smoke fluid, as a friend told me; you CANNOT have a Thunderbird without smoke...... lol

Oh, for what it's worth; mine is the PNP version.

Last edited by Zeeb; 10-11-2021 at 06:18 PM.
Old 10-11-2021, 06:34 PM
  #387  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Im talking about the external center tank.

Old 10-11-2021, 06:35 PM
  #388  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

And yes more fuel is good. I have 180 also!
Old 10-12-2021, 05:56 PM
  #389  
smchale
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,803
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyrcjets View Post
Can anybody tell me how they mounted the center tank on the BVM JL F16 1/6th scale.
Seems very weak and hard to get to where the holes are.
Thanks..
i mounted a pair of BVM 1” knurled threaded inserts into the bottom of the fuse.
then i took a long 4-40 bolt and cut the head off and filed a flat on one end (like you would for a wheel axel). That then threads into the fuse with the end with the flat sticking out and to one side. My pylon has a set screw in the side that tightens against that flat. The tank stays mounted to the pylon.
So to install i thread the headless bolts in, then slide the tank/pylon assembly on and tighten the set screw in the pylon. Hope that make sense. The silver paint shows me when to stop screwing the headless bolt in.




Last edited by smchale; 10-12-2021 at 05:58 PM.
Old 10-12-2021, 06:34 PM
  #390  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thank you for sending the information!
Ok that would work but curious how you got up in the fuse or was it empty when you installed the inserts.
My holes are on the back sides of the formers that is impossible to reach with everything installed.


Originally Posted by smchale View Post
i mounted a pair of BVM 1” knurled threaded inserts into the bottom of the fuse.
then i took a long 4-40 bolt and cut the head off and filed a flat on one end (like you would for a wheel axel). That then threads into the fuse with the end with the flat sticking out and to one side. My pylon has a set screw in the side that tightens against that flat. The tank stays mounted to the pylon.
So to install i thread the headless bolts in, then slide the tank/pylon assembly on and tighten the set screw in the pylon. Hope that make sense. The silver paint shows me when to stop screwing the headless bolt in.



Old 10-13-2021, 02:43 AM
  #391  
smchale
My Feedback: (67)
 
smchale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Philadelphia PA
Posts: 2,803
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

It was so long ago, but without the turbine in it’s accessible to both locations. One is right in front of the former that holds the back of the inlet ducting and the other is right behind the rear LG former. I used a long 3” 4-40 bolt in one end of the insert to guide it in position and then another screw in the bottom to hold it tight. The long screw also helped me make sure it was vertical before gluing. Then i added a bead of hysol around the knurled spacer. Once cured i could remove both bolts.
Old 10-13-2021, 06:28 PM
  #392  
Zeeb
My Feedback: (41)
 
Zeeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St George, Utah UT
Posts: 5,357
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by flyrcjets View Post
Thank you for sending the information!
Ok that would work but curious how you got up in the fuse or was it empty when you installed the inserts.
My holes are on the back sides of the formers that is impossible to reach with everything installed.
It's not difficult to remove the Turbine from this model, maybe that would allow the access you need?
Old 10-13-2021, 10:41 PM
  #393  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yep, I have removed the turbine, helps on angle, but it's the stuff on the other side of the formers at the bottom of fuse and the fact the holes are right up against those formers. Pretty small holes so can enlarge them or move them.
I was thinking similar to Sean's method, and the way the wing tanks are done with tabs that hang, and the pylon is slotted to fit with a hole/screw on the side to secure.

Old 10-13-2021, 10:46 PM
  #394  
flyrcjets
My Feedback: (30)
 
flyrcjets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Roseville CA
Posts: 676
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by smchale View Post
It was so long ago, but without the turbine in it’s accessible to both locations. One is right in front of the former that holds the back of the inlet ducting and the other is right behind the rear LG former. I used a long 3” 4-40 bolt in one end of the insert to guide it in position and then another screw in the bottom to hold it tight. The long screw also helped me make sure it was vertical before gluing. Then i added a bead of hysol around the knurled spacer. Once cured i could remove both bolts.
So I guess they put those holes there on all of them! I like that you can hold it all in place while it sets up. I'll check it out, thanks!

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.