Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Servo Choice for BVM e brake

Community
Search
Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Servo Choice for BVM e brake

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2017, 02:18 PM
turnnburn
My Feedback: (49)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Servo Choice for BVM e brake

I went to fly my 63" BVM F-86 Sabre today and found I had no brakes. Brake system on this bird is the BVM e-brake (not sure if it is version one or two (I dont know the diff between the two systems). I think mine is version 2 but Im not sure. I purchased the plane ready to fly and this was the braking system installed. This is my first time using this system. No problems with it until today. Started trouble shooting when I got home and found that the servo (JR 8411) was not moving or even trying to move, After I removed it from the plane I find that the servo is completely locked up in brakes off position and is totally dead. I dont see any gear train issues so I think the servo motor is frozen. My guess is that this was either caused by too much voltage ( I am running unregulated 6.6v life batteries) or from heat damage from engine exhaust servo since this servo resides under the tailpipe just aft of the wing trialing edge. I think when I reinstall I will move the servo to an area with no exposure to heat or perhaps try to insulate the servo in some way. These seem to me to be the two most likely causes of this servo failure.

I went through my loose/spare servo supply and did not find another JR 8411 and I do not have the a spektrum 6260 servo which is what BVM calls for on e-brake 2 . I did find in my drawer a JR 8611 which is the same physical size and will drop right in the mounting as it stands currently.

My questions are

Can a JR 8611 take 6.6 volts ?

What other servos are guys using in e brake one and two with 6.6volts ?