Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Jeti DS-12

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Jeti DS-12

Old 08-01-2020, 03:33 AM
  #126  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,009
Received 29 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Secraft, esprit models might have it in stock.....
Old 08-01-2020, 03:58 AM
  #127  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,015
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Dansy View Post
Secraft, esprit models might have it in stock.....
Thanks....I see one on the Seacraft website that looks like it, although they don't list Jeti as a compatible tx. I also can't find it on Espirit, Aeropanda or Dreamworks. Maybe Carlos will chime in on where he got his. I assume it will fit my DS-24.
Old 08-01-2020, 06:14 AM
  #128  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

It will fit all but the 24, the 24 has a thicker handle, sorry Craig.

It's under the Seacraft, radios accessories on the Esprit site.

https://www.espritmodel.com/transmit...e-holders.aspx

Last edited by CARS II; 08-01-2020 at 06:17 AM.
Old 08-01-2020, 12:28 PM
  #129  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,015
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
It will fit all but the 24, the 24 has a thicker handle, sorry Craig.

It's under the Seacraft, radios accessories on the Esprit site.

https://www.espritmodel.com/transmit...e-holders.aspx
Oh well....but thanks anyway!
Old 08-01-2020, 04:20 PM
  #130  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 1,463
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Craig, are you looking for a DS-24 stand?
Gary
Old 08-02-2020, 02:56 AM
  #131  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,015
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Viper1GJ View Post
Craig, are you looking for a DS-24 stand?
Gary
Yes
Old 08-02-2020, 05:54 AM
  #132  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 1,463
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CraigG View Post
Yes
Craig, see the DS-24 thread post #1696.
Gary

Last edited by Viper1GJ; 08-02-2020 at 05:56 AM.
Old 08-02-2020, 06:31 AM
  #133  
CraigG
My Feedback: (40)
 
CraigG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Sautee Nacoochee, GA
Posts: 2,015
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Viper1GJ View Post
Craig, see the DS-24 thread post #1696.
Gary
That looks just like what I need but I don't have a 3-D printer. Does your friend or anybody else sell them?
Old 08-02-2020, 02:04 PM
  #134  
Viper1GJ
My Feedback: (20)
 
Viper1GJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Saint George , SC
Posts: 1,463
Likes: 0
Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CraigG View Post
That looks just like what I need but I don't have a 3-D printer. Does your friend or anybody else sell them?
Craig, Taking this over to the DS-24 thread since it only works for the 24.
Thanks,
Gary
Old 08-04-2020, 01:03 AM
  #135  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I finally got into programming my radio using Harry's newcomers videos as a guide of to where to start and the sequence to a successful complete programming of an airplane, just like everything else, the more you use it, the easier it becomes, so far I got two models programed up to the basic part ( no more time tonight ) I have a 30cc PC21 and my Boomerang XL in there now, the next steps are the same as any other set up ( servo reversing, travel adjustments, centering ) the videos gives tips on where to go to set the travel of the Ail and Elev, definetly a different step from what I'm used to but I'm willing to try the new way, at least to me, in order to understand why he makes the travel adjustments there, it is reviled in some of the other videos ( I will keep watching )

Last edited by CARS II; 08-04-2020 at 09:19 AM.
Old 08-04-2020, 01:16 AM
  #136  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

One thing that is really nice about the Jeti radio is how vast the software is and that makes the installs easier to accomplish, there are no model limits, create as many models your wallet can handel.
Here is a question for you guys, when in basic functions the menu ask how many gear servos, that funtion can also be added in the servo assignment page, which one should I choose to use ( select or add ) for my air driven gear?

Tks.



Last edited by CARS II; 08-04-2020 at 09:30 AM.
Old 08-04-2020, 01:58 AM
  #137  
Bob_B
My Feedback: (11)
 
Bob_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Bluegrass State of Mind
Posts: 4,242
Received 20 Likes on 16 Posts
Default

I typically use the Gear preset in Basic prop. But you can create your own in Function assignment and custom name the function. Its your choice.
Old 08-04-2020, 09:40 AM
  #138  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Good to know.

Tks.
Old 08-04-2020, 09:49 AM
  #139  
Dansy
My Feedback: (53)
 
Dansy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Prescott, Ont.
Posts: 2,009
Received 29 Likes on 27 Posts
Default

Carlos, you don’t need to assigned a Channel For throttle kill....it’s pre-made in the advance menu
Old 08-04-2020, 10:46 AM
  #140  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Good to know also, I will check it out and use it.

Thanks Daniel.
Old 08-04-2020, 11:12 AM
  #141  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

This one? Advance properly menu.



Last edited by CARS II; 08-04-2020 at 11:15 AM.
Old 08-04-2020, 11:26 AM
  #142  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

When looking at the accelerometers choices when selecting as the input for the brakes, one wanders how this other choices can be use, I was trying to activate G/R shake L/R and G/R shake L/R but couldn't consistently make it work, I suppose I have to read on it to understand how it works or how it can be used.


Old 08-04-2020, 11:57 AM
  #143  
wfield0455
My Feedback: (7)
 
wfield0455's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holliston, MA
Posts: 1,208
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
When looking at the accelerometers choices when selecting as the input for the brakes, one wanders how this other choices can be use, I was trying to activate G/R shake L/R and G/R shake L/R but couldn't consistently make it work, I suppose I have to read on it to understand how it works or how it can be used.


I tried it but wasn't happy with it so I ended up on a slider. I used GY as is seemed an appropriate motion for applying brakes.
The shake commands aren't suitable as they are only active when the transmitter is shaken so how you you keep brakes applied to prevent rolling while waiting to take off at a busy jet rally , etc. Also they all kind of need +/-90 degrees of movement to make a significant change. Unless you hold your transmitter at a 45 degree angle and want to pitch it to 45 degrees down you won't get much travel and will have very abrupt braking. You can crank up the scaling factor on the Y axis to get more output for smaller movement but if you want to fly with your transmitter fairly level you will need to pitch the tx straigh down to get full braking. Of course you really don't want full braking during landing, but when used as a parking brake continuing to hold the tx straight down is awkward. I also had issues with activating when I didn't want during startup (harmless but wastes air) and releasing when I didn't want it to while sitting on a taxiway waiting my turn to fly. St the time it just seemed more trouble than it was worth but for my DS12 which doesn't have sliders (the upper knobs aren't great substitutes) I may have to revisit it. Please let us know what you come up with an how you like it.





Last edited by wfield0455; 08-04-2020 at 12:12 PM.
Old 08-04-2020, 12:44 PM
  #144  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Thanks for your thoughts Wayne, I am having about the same thoughts about using the accelerometers for braking ( awkward indeed) it will not work as a parking brake while waiting, may end up using a switch as I do now, my brakes are full on or full off with lube on the O rings buy I will keep trying different options to see which one is more natural to use.
Old 08-04-2020, 12:49 PM
  #145  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

The suggestion to use throttle cut to stop the engine is good, I will have that programmed in my gas engine model, I also use throttle kill ( ignition module ) to stop the engine when back in the pits area and since it requires a port on the receiver to plug in the TK lead, that is the reason I added a TK funtion in the radios funtions menu.

Thoughts, suggestions any one?
Old 08-04-2020, 12:56 PM
  #146  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

Ok, let me change a word here.

Throttle Kill to Ignition Kill.
Old 08-04-2020, 01:24 PM
  #147  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

When I got to the point of binding my new 12chl receiver the radio gave the massage on the picture, I was wandering why will a receiver needed to be registered, I sent a massage to Danny from Aeropanda, he said to say yes, ok I will do that, then it occurred to me that like the radio these new REX receivers now come with the Vario funtion build in, in order to use that funtion you have to buy it to unlock the receiver Vario funtion, in order to get the right folder they have to know to which receiver the folder is been sent to, I think that's the answer to that question.

Since this receiver is not going to be use in a glider then, I will say yes to the radio's question and continue with my programming.

Moving forward



Last edited by CARS II; 08-04-2020 at 01:28 PM.
Old 08-04-2020, 01:32 PM
  #148  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

I wander now if you get the same massage with a receiver that doesn't have the Vario funtion in it.
Old 08-04-2020, 02:08 PM
  #149  
F1 Rocket
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 480
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by CARS II View Post
When I got to the point of binding my new 12chl receiver the radio gave the massage on the picture, I was wandering why will a receiver needed to be registered, I sent a massage to Danny from Aeropanda, he said to say yes, ok I will do that, then it occurred to me that like the radio these new REX receivers now come with the Vario funtion build in, in order to use that funtion you have to buy it to unlock the receiver Vario funtion, in order to get the right folder they have to know to which receiver the folder is been sent to, I think that's the answer to that question.

Since this receiver is not going to be use in a glider then, I will say yes to the radio's question and continue with my programming.

Moving forward


This particular message is the TX telling you that it has detected a receiver that has never been paired with it. You will see this with all new receivers the first time you pair them to the transmitter.
Old 08-04-2020, 02:09 PM
  #150  
CARS II
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
CARS II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 5,696
Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts
Default

As I move forward with the receiver, I get to the calibration point ( following Harry's vids ) it's all done, on doing a bit of exploring around the receivers menu, I found the real registration code, I suppose in order to get the registration code the receiver has to be bound to the radio, now you can go into the receiver's menu and retrieve the registration number/code.




Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.