Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Cortex Gyro Question/ Problem?

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Cortex Gyro Question/ Problem?

Old 09-27-2022, 05:32 AM
  #1  
jerrybern
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: , IL
Posts: 179
Received 31 Likes on 22 Posts
Default Cortex Gyro Question/ Problem?

I am using a Cortex gyro in my 1/4 Vampire,with a Futaba 10J radio.I have it on
channel 9 using a 3 way switch.When I use it the up postion shows yellow, middle red and down green.I set the travel to 30 and 20 % on the travel limits.My question is It responds very slow to any movements, is this normal? This is my first gyro so I don't know what to expect.
Thanks
Jerry B
Old 09-27-2022, 06:11 AM
  #2  
jason
My Feedback: (1)
 
jason's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: kenilworth , UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 2,362
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jerrybern View Post
I am using a Cortex gyro in my 1/4 Vampire,with a Futaba 10J radio.I have it on
channel 9 using a 3 way switch.When I use it the up postion shows yellow, middle red and down green.I set the travel to 30 and 20 % on the travel limits.My question is It responds very slow to any movements, is this normal? This is my first gyro so I don't know what to expect.
Thanks
Jerry B
What you're seeing is probably right however I would move it from the switch to a rotary or slider and fly the model crosswind as fast as you are ever likely to fly it while turning the yellow gain up slowly until you're happy with it or the the surfaces start to oscillate then wind it back slightly. Then when you land check the the % travel you have wound in and then move the channel back to the switch to a 3 position switch and program in the same travel. I don't use the heading hold so I always wind that back to zero incase the switch inadvertently gets moved.
Old 09-27-2022, 06:47 AM
  #3  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,060
Received 248 Likes on 200 Posts
Default

No, it shouldn't slow your servo movements down in relation to stick input. Unless you're in heading hold which you don't want unless you're hovering, then i guess its possible but middle position should be off.
Old 09-27-2022, 01:27 PM
  #4  
DAN AVILLA
My Feedback: (12)
 
DAN AVILLA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Prescott, AZ CA
Posts: 773
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default

If you use a 3 position switch one side of the channel will be heading hold and will kill the plane if switched at the wrong time. That being said you can plug a lap top into the gyro and make both banks be rate. If you do not do that on my futabas I use a program mix that allows it to only be on one side of the channel. I have found the 30% gear up and 50% gear down will work with all planes.I just slave it to the gear switch but also have a switch to turn it off. Dan

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2022 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.