Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Problem with throttle

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems

Problem with throttle

Old 06-16-2010, 10:21 AM
  #1  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with throttle

Hello all,
I am running a Wren 54 turbo prop engine, But recently I have a problem with the Throttle.

Nothing has changed in any of the settings but now after I start the engine, idling, when I move the throttle just a bit, I get this loud jet noise like there is too much fuel. also advancing more, it flames out.

Could it be the fuel pump not working properly, ????

Thanks for any help.

Roger
Old 06-16-2010, 10:38 AM
  #2  
LGM Graphix
My Feedback: (22)
 
LGM Graphix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Abbotsford, BC, CANADA
Posts: 5,718
Likes: 0
Received 25 Likes on 18 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle

I have zero experience with Wren's or turbo props, but it sounds to me like you might need to slow the pump down, when they break in they can become much more powerful. You might need to reduce the pump voltage, or the ramp time or both. (not sure what options you have with the wren). I had to do this on my G Booster 160+, after about 30 flights I had to slow down the ramp time a little bit as the pump was trying to spool the engine faster than it wanted to go, it would do it, but it didn't sound quite right.
I'm sure there are many far more experienced who can give you a better answer than mine though
Old 06-16-2010, 12:19 PM
  #3  
basimpsn
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Mia, FL
Posts: 2,574
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Problem with throttle

Try it again at night to see if yellow or blue flames coming the exhaust when you throttle up. Did your prop spooling up slower than before ?.

My friend and i disassemble one of WREN turboprop gear box due to binding issues after a crash. Sounds like what you described.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	pn36122.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	1,003.0 KB
ID:	1453916  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:26 PM
  #4  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle

Thanks for the reply so far, it has never been in a crash and gear box seems to be running OK.

I have worked to the ramp up but still have too much fuel it would seem , also in flight, lets say I'm at half throttle, and power up, I can hear like a rumbling noise of afterburner , which I don't have LOL... and it clears...

Roger
Old 06-16-2010, 03:40 PM
  #5  
box55555
 
box55555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: cheltenhamgloucestershire, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle

Have you guys seen the thread on "Wren Supersport". Seems you may have similar issues.
Old 06-16-2010, 03:46 PM
  #6  
Joe C
My Feedback: (23)
 
Joe C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 2,437
Likes: 0
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle

I would send the engine back to Wren and have them take care of it.
Old 06-16-2010, 05:07 PM
  #7  
i3dm
My Feedback: (51)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Reut,Israel
Posts: 4,305
Likes: 0
Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle

Roger my friend,

Definitely sounds like too much fuel going in. im just wondering what has changed..

Do you have access to the ramping values ? these could be changed to slow the ramp down, at least for a test.

I would consult Wren either way, i hear their support is good.
Old 06-16-2010, 05:09 PM
  #8  
Forgues Research
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (7)
 
Forgues Research's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Glen Robertson, ON, CANADA
Posts: 3,453
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with throttle


ORIGINAL: i3dm

Roger my friend,

Definitely sounds like too much fuel going in. im just wondering what has changed..

Do you have access to the ramping values ? these could be changed to slow the ramp down, at least for a test.

I would consult Wren either way, i hear their support is good.

Hey buddy,
Yes I have access and this is what I will do next
I had the same problem with the 44 and it solved the problem but so far this has not , so I will try a bit more.

Roger

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.