Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Rudder question

Notices
RC Jets Discuss RC jets in this forum plus rc turbines and ducted fan power systems
View Poll Results: A poll
I only use rudder for take off and landing.
5.61%
Option 1 + I use rudder for few manuevers while flying.
43.86%
I use rudder during my entire flight.
45.96%
What is a rudder?
4.56%
Voters: 285. You may not vote on this poll

Rudder question

Old 07-21-2010, 09:37 AM
sirrom
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rudder question

Ok. I have never done a poll before but wanted to get the opinions of jet flyers. See this whole thing was sparked by a discussion with a friend about flying. He stated that most jet pilots don't use rudder during a normal flight except for maybe take off and landing. I am very interested in seeing the numbers on this one.

Patrick
Old 07-21-2010, 11:18 AM
erbroens

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default RE: Rudder question

It depends on the occation. I never used rudder other than takeoff and landing on a 1/8 F-16 until one taileron servo failed and the rudder was used to bring the plane out of a death spiral. The rudder saved the day.
Old 07-21-2010, 11:39 AM
sailing1
My Feedback: (134)

Sort of hard to fly knife edge without a Rudder.
Old 07-21-2010, 01:25 PM
highhorse

I love snaps and spins. They are my "thing" and I do them every flight.
Old 07-21-2010, 01:36 PM
invertmast
My Feedback: (22)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'm constantly flying using the rudder. mostly b/c its a 90% chance we will have a cross-wind at our field, and if you aren't using rudder, your not doing it right. then in flight i'll use it for spins, snaps, knife-edge, sllllooooowwww rolls, etc..
Old 07-21-2010, 06:10 PM
jason
My Feedback: (1)