Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

New to Nitro Questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2005, 04:28 PM
RaVen1357

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to Nitro Questions

I got my first Nitro ever Yesterday, and I've put two tanks of fuel through it this afternoon. It's a used and well cared for, stock Traxxas Nitro Sport SE. Being new to this side of the sport( I've a few years of electric experience) I made a rather large mistake trying to get it running. It didn't start the first time I tried so I decided to richen the mixture to factory settings. Well the instructions said to turn the needle all the way out, back 1 3/4 turns, then tune from there. I continued to have problems the rest of the run, Namely, it wouldn't start, and if it would, it would die if I went past 1/3 throttle.

So I decided to sit back and think about it. I decided that the reason the motor wouldn't start, was because the battery for the EZ-Start was probably dead, so the EZ-Start couldn't get the Pro .15 engine up to starting speed( I'd been trying to start on and off for about an hour). Then I noticed a special "Read Me First" paper. This paper was the Nitro Spot SE instructions. I had been following the normal NS instructions. Well, it turns out that the needle was supposed to be turned back 2 1/2 turns[:@]. I had been running the High speed needle about one turn farther out than the maximum Lean settings. No wonder It was having problems[:-].

So, I've put the EZ-Start battery on the charger and will tune the engine correctly, then try again later tonight or tomorrow.
In the mean time I've got some questions:

1. I put after-run oil in the engine after running it. Is there any other mantience I should be doing?
2. Can I safely change the high or low speed mixture settings with the engine running?
3. How often (# of runs) do y'all have to change your glow plugs?

Thanks for the help.