Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Nitro Stadium Trucks
Reload this Page >

RT-X 27 stock super tigre .27 motor questions

Community
Search
Notices
RC Nitro Stadium Trucks Discuss all aspects of rc nitro stadium trucks here

RT-X 27 stock super tigre .27 motor questions

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2009, 04:37 PM
Arnoldj1979

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RT-X 27 stock super tigre .27 motor questions

Hey folks, so I'm new to the R/C /car/truck community but I've fooled around with nitro planes in the past. I'll hop right to the point. I've just purchased a new Duratrax RT-X27 and I've been having numerous engine problems.

Now, I've read the forums and I understand that most folks agree that the stock motors in these are crap. To me part of the fun of the hobby is the tinkering aspect. So rather than utilize Duratrax's 3 year engine warranty I would feel pretty proud of myself if I was able to fix these issues rather than just take the noob way out and have them send me a new motor.

Ok so this motor is relatively broke in 6 or 7 tanks and I have her running relatively good (running on the rich side) Here are my underlying issues.

1. The motor is running scorching hot by the time I run half a tank through her (I mean sizzle the skin off your fingers and evaporate your spit in a milli-instant kinda hot. I've tryed running richer than normal and removed the canopy for maximum airflow, still EXTREMELY hot. I'm running 20% nitro 12% lubricant fuel. I've been reading about engine sealing and how air leaks can cause temperature problems but I'm not confident in my abilities and I have been nervous to try it myself. Let me know yalls thoughts on this.

2. I've burned through 4 glow plugs in about half a gallon of fuel. Can't seem to find what glow plugs I'm supposed to be using for this motor. ( I googled the crap outa it also) Can the wrong plug contribute to the above heat problem?