Community
Search
Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

When is it time to change a Tx battery ?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2011, 07:31 PM
Ed

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default When is it time to change a Tx battery ?

I've been using the same battery in my transmitter for the past 4 years, and it's still testing over 80% capacity when I cycle it. Is there any need to replace it ?

ed
Old 08-13-2011, 07:39 PM
BuschBarber
My Feedback: (2)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: When is it time to change a Tx battery ?

ORIGINAL: Ed

I've been using the same battery in my transmitter for the past 4 years, and it's still testing over 80% capacity when I cycle it. Is there any need to replace it ?

ed
Even if you are still getting acceptable capacity, aging batteries can lose a cell and then you lose the signal, without warning. Batteries are cheap enough now where the risk is not worth taking. I change batteries every two years.
Old 08-14-2011, 05:01 AM
Jezmo