Notices
RC Radios, Transmitters, Receivers, Servos, gyros Discussion all about rc radios, transmitters, receivers, servos, etc.

Idle up with 9c

Old 03-24-2004, 07:08 PM
  #1  
Josey Wales
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (61)
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle up with 9c

Just wondering how everyone is using this feature?? Im trying to see the benefit of the idle up feature....Before I got the 9c I would just set the trim tab to give a good idle so when I pulled the stick back the engine would not quit..Isnt that basically what the idle up feature is for or am I missing something? Just dont want to be missing out!!
Old 03-24-2004, 07:17 PM
  #2  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

On some of my engines, I find that a good reliable idle for aerobatics is too high for landings. I set the idel up so I can flip the switch for a low idle when landing the plane.
Old 03-24-2004, 07:22 PM
  #3  
Josey Wales
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (61)
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Really? Why would the iidle be different?? I mean you want a reliable idle for BOTH right?? Why would you need a different idle for aerobatics?? Not trying to disagree with you but just trying to get through my thick head!!!
Old 03-24-2004, 07:28 PM
  #4  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Sometimes a violent maneuver at low power can come close to killing an engine. It's nice to have a high idle for aerobatics. Likewise, on landing I like a low idle where the engine just ticks over. With idle-up function I can have both and never have to touch the throttle trim. This keeps the idle consistent every time. Not all of my enignes are like this; I use the function with my OS 46FX but not my DA-100.
Old 03-24-2004, 07:29 PM
  #5  
Josey Wales
Senior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (61)
 
Josey Wales's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: **, NJ
Posts: 4,741
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Ok!! I think I got it!! Thanks
Old 03-24-2004, 08:08 PM
  #6  
rhd-RCU
My Feedback: (36)
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

I think idle up is used mostly in choppers. It is actually a fligh mode.
Old 03-24-2004, 08:17 PM
  #7  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

That too, but the meaning completely changes with a heli.
Old 03-24-2004, 09:48 PM
  #8  
rhd-RCU
My Feedback: (36)
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Not really. When the first helli radios came out and weren't computer, that is all it did was raise the idle to a fixed position. The idle would stay the same no matter were your pitch was. None helli radios did not even have this switch. It was strictly a helli function. With the new radios this switch does a lot more. A JR Century Seven is an example of this.
Old 03-24-2004, 10:02 PM
  #9  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

The idle-up function now gives you an entirely different throttle/pitch curve to mess with, usually to set up an aerobatic curve. All it does with a plane is let you adjust the idle point of the engine. Besides, we're talking about a 9C here, not an old Century. Maybe it's been a while since you've set up a heli?
Old 03-24-2004, 11:15 PM
  #10  
rhd-RCU
My Feedback: (36)
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

All I am saying is that idle up function came from a helli radio originally. I also stated this in my post; [With the new radios this switch does a lot more.]
Old 03-24-2004, 11:18 PM
  #11  
rhd-RCU
My Feedback: (36)
 
rhd-RCU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: burlington, WI
Posts: 714
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Are you a moderator? If you are, you are a very rude one.
Old 03-24-2004, 11:29 PM
  #12  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

RD, here's some info you might find useful, and it is not in the 9C manual (yet)http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_13...tm.htm#1382279
Old 03-26-2004, 02:27 PM
  #13  
Flyfalcons
Senior Member
 
Flyfalcons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Bonney Lake, WA
Posts: 6,544
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

Sorry you disagree with me.
Old 03-26-2004, 03:07 PM
  #14  
rajul
Moderator
My Feedback: (58)
 
rajul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Missouri City, TX
Posts: 8,179
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Idle up with 9c

I could not find an element of "rudeness" in Ryan's earlier posts. Ryan is one of the most helpful mods that I know in RCU. FWIW

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.