Notices
RC On Road Nitro Cars Discuss all aspects of on-road nitro rc cars here

Smartech Car Clutch Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2007, 02:06 PM
JonesE

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Smartech Car Clutch Problem?

My smartech car runs fine but it has a hard time moving I have to slowly give it throttle to make the car move and if I speed up the engine screams and the car slows down and someitmes to a stop. Other times i can't get it to move at all. This HAS to be a problem in the clutch area but i don't know whats wrong. I own a raptor 50 titan with an oss 50 hyper but it has a metal clutch and clutch liner. This smartech does not have a clutch linei n the bell and it has a spring device. I am new to rc cars and do not understand how this works. My clutch is probably melted as I noticed it was kind of lop sided and there was a lot of black grunk in the clutch bell. Which part do I need to replace? How do I fix this?
Old 10-29-2007, 02:17 PM
GYNAIKAS

Default RE: Smartech Car Clutch Problem?

Well have you checked the flywheel nut? But if it was the nut it wouldn't move at all ...don't know what to say my brain got stucked... Let me think about it...
Old 10-29-2007, 02:22 PM
DIABLOTAC78

is your spur gear stripped or the screw from the clutch bell loose or is it without screw? the clutch shoe? check it out .
Old 10-29-2007, 02:58 PM
JonesE

None of my gears are stripped. I had the engine out of the car earlier today to clean up the clutch but that didn't help. The hex bolt holding the clutch on is tight. I think I'll have to buy a new clutch.
Old 10-29-2007, 03:13 PM
GYNAIKAS

Did you check the final gears or the transmission generally? When you hit the throtle do the bell-gears and the spur gears move?
Old 10-29-2007, 05:17 PM
JonesE