Community
Search
Notices
RC Rock Crawlers The official rock crawling forum right here on RCU. Rock Crawler Trucks Rule!

new and need some insight

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2009, 10:58 PM
87duker

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new and need some insight

I am new to rockcrawlers and been looking into them some but really would like some insights from you guys. I have found alot of used ones on craigslist and some custom ones i like but im just going to screw around with it so not sure what to look for or if there is a kit that would be better. would like to keep under 250. Also if i were to build one how much do they run to build a running custom thats not all out crazy? Let me know also if u have some forsale let me know thanks.kris
Old 11-16-2009, 12:20 AM
87duker

Default RE: new and need some insight

Also would it be possible to put some wide more floatation tires on for winter as i live in northern MN.  Also i havent seen it yet but anyone make like matt tracks for rc?
Old 11-16-2009, 11:24 PM
andybenton

well i run competition ax10s but as far as tires go the stock 2.2s that are pretty standard on most crawlers will allready litterally float the crawler in water. so as far as your tires go you should be good.
Old 11-17-2009, 06:24 PM
jsowens

It really depends on what kind of crawling you're planning to do. If you're just planning on doing some backyard crawling you shouldn't have an issue staying under the $250 mark. If you're thinking of sticking with 2.2 rigs my suggestion would be to pick up a venom creeper rtr kit A on ckrccrawlers. You'd have a solid starting base, with ok electronics to get you started.

http://www.ckrccrawlers.com/shop/ind...oducts_id=1464

It's not far above your budget...or you could pick up the creeper kit for $125, then add your choice of electronics.
Old 11-17-2009, 11:27 PM
andybenton