Community
Search
Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Gearbox Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2006, 12:57 AM
ah64

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gearbox Question

Is shimming the gear boxes that important? I was looking at some forums but I dont see how shimming the gears so that they stay inline with one another is really a benefit. If you were pulling alot of weight then I could see how the gears would be stripped if not inline since all the force would concentrate on a small area of teeth, but is it really worth it? Just a curious Question. If so how would you go about doing it? Nylon or metal shims?
Old 12-11-2006, 09:07 AM
martin g

Default RE: Gearbox Question

I havent done this, but like you I have read a great deal about it and other mods and questioned thier worth. By profession, these days I am a Mechanical Engineer and I deal with gearboxes and thier failures etc daily on a proffessional level by coincidence. So, from my humble experience on the face of things you are right, meshing the gears correctly is important for industrial uses where torque loadings are high etc, this way you get all the force spread evenly accross the gear wheels. Whether it makes a difference or not on a 1/16 scale model is a different matter. If the gears are only meshing say accross a third of the width, then yes its too close for comfort and there is a chance that they could strip. If they are pretty much in line, providing you dont overload the gears you shouldnt have much of a problem. The main thought from me is the axial movement the gears have, not so much the alignment, they travel along the shaft a lot ( couple mm is a lot of travel when your spinning at 200 rpm) and this will cause 'uneven' wear to the INSIDE of the wheel and that could lead to problems.