Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Cars, Buggies, Trucks, Tanks and more > RC Tanks
Reload this Page >

Problem with smoke generator

Notices
RC Tanks Discuss all aspects of rc tank building and driving here!

Problem with smoke generator

Old 07-06-2007, 12:24 AM
  #1  
Leopard88
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Problem with smoke generator

Hi tankers,

I have a big problem with my smoke generator[sm=disappointed.gif] . When extracting the table, I cut the fiber cord with the wire[sm=cry_smile.gif]… Is possible to mend it?


Old 07-06-2007, 05:49 AM
  #2  
mariomart
Member
 
mariomart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tank Gunn, NT, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 89
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Problem with smoke generator

The "fibre" cable is actually a heating element. The element operates in the same way as a kitchen toaster operates, essentially the same metal ribbon, which uses resistance to heat the metal untill it glows red/white hot which in turn burns the smoke oil. By cutting the wire you have affected the resistance of the length of wire, thus there is a higher chance of it burning out if you used it in its shortened form.

Basically it would be best to replace the whole unit, or try to make contact with S. Perry on this board as he has experience in smoke unit matters.

Hope this helps.

Cheers Mario

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.