Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > RC Warbirds and Warplanes
Reload this Page >

Favorite Spitfire?

Notices
RC Warbirds and Warplanes Discuss rc warbirds and warplanes in this forum.

Favorite Spitfire?

Old 12-27-2019, 02:57 AM
ho2zoo
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Favorite Spitfire?

I have been flying warbirds for many years now, and have lately been thinking about getting a large Spitfire. Many years ago I flew a Pica Spitfire and it was a wonderfully flying plane (the 65" version). So I'm looking at the various ARFs and kits available now and would like something at least 70" wingspan. I like the TopRC Spit a lot, but it's pretty expensive. The Phoenix ARF is pretty cool. And I've looked at the Seagull ARF, but I'm not sure how 'scale' it is. I don't think you can get the Yellow kit any more, can you?

So let's hear some suggestions. Which is your favorite Spitfire? Rate them on cost, fly-ability, scale looks, or whatever!
Old 12-28-2019, 03:13 PM
mark IX
My Feedback: (9)

IMHO, if you want a larger Spitfire I would recommend the Brian Taylor Spitfire Mk IX. It spans 83". Though it is not an ARF, it is the most accurate scale kit in the hobby. Taylor's designs are fairly easy to build for the experienced modeler and you end up with a beautiful model. Vicrc.com has a fiberglass fuse and accessories for the kit as well as Bob Holman, who also has the plans as well. And, if you send a pdf copy of your wing plan to Eureka Aircraft, they can cut you an accurate foam wing core as well. Here some pictures:

This is a pic of the finished model, not mine.

Mine, work in progress.

Assembled
H

ere are some pictures of mine which I am currently scratch building.

Last edited by mark IX; 12-28-2019 at 03:44 PM. Reason: editing pics
Old 12-28-2019, 03:30 PM
mark IX