Community
Search
Notices
RCV Engines Support Ask RCV Technical Support all your RCV engine questions!

90SP + CoolPower 10% fuel ok?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2008, 01:23 PM
Michael211
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 90SP + CoolPower 10% fuel ok?

I'm new to these engines... I have a brand new 90SP I need to break-in, and I've got 2 gallons of CoolPower 10% airplane fuel just sitting here. Can anybody tell me if this fuel will be ok in the 90SP engine? It has always ran great in my 40 OS SF engines!

I've read the label on these fuel containers and can't find the exact ratios and types of oil in CoolPower so I'm kinda at a loss here and don't want to damage this engine!

Thanks!

- Michael
Old 01-27-2008, 11:07 AM
Whistling Death

Default RE: 90SP + CoolPower 10% fuel ok?

They recommend using fuel with 6% castor. I wouldn't use a fuel without it in this engine.
Old 01-27-2008, 11:00 PM
Michael211

Thanks for the heads-up! Can you recommend a good brand of fuel for these SP engines that's readily available in the US? I was able to borrow a few ounces of fuel from a fellow club member today, which had about 8% caster oil and 10% synthetic oil, and got the engine started on a test stand... it was quite impressive, turning the 18x12 Master Airscrew prop!

Nobody in my club has ever seen one of these engines run before so it got quite an audience. 8-)

Of course the idle was really rough as expected, but the mid-range was strong and smooth... there was however some oil leaking out around the prop-shaft which concerns me a little bit. Is this normal while running rich to break-in? We only ran it for 4 ounces then shut it down... I'd like a fuel recomendation honestly before I continue with the break-in.

Thanks ya'll!

- Michael
Old 01-29-2008, 09:44 AM
Whistling Death